Instagram: @winterhart.studios
Website: www.winterhartstudios.com

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

Hello, my name is Anne-Sophie and I am 26 years old. I started getting into illustrating while I was doing my apprenticeship in dressmaking and fashion design in 2011. After I got my Diploma I moved to Hamburg to study Illustration. And now I made Hamburg my new home,  I love the city, the people, the harbour and even the rainy, cold days. 

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

My drawings often have distorted proportions like big feet, big hands and small heads, big hair. I guess that’s the fashion influence that sucks. Also, my characters are diverse and I have a very good and harmonious understanding when it comes to my color palettes and composition. My main focus is editorial and advertisement illustration.

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

I started drawing analogue with crayons but switched to digital drawing a long time ago because I have so many varieties and opportunities on one little device, which I can take anywhere I want so I basically can work everywhere. 

4. What is your artistic process like?

I always keep my sketchbook with me just in case something pops into my head. When I get an idea for an illustration I start with a little sketch on paper. Then I digitalize my sketches and start drawing on my iPad. 

5. Who and/or what inspires your work? 

Most of my ideas are just everyday situations and problems I think a lot of people can relate to, and things that concern me like mental health, food, and just life itself and the lovely people I spent my time with. 

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

Art plays the biggest role in my life I would say because it surrounds me everywhere. I draw every day, I listen to music, I love watching movies, going to museums. Since it always has been that way, I grew up with my dad painting and making music all the time, it has been a part of me and I think this made me more open to the world in general.

@winterhart.studios

7. Where did you study?

I studied fashion design and Dressmaking in Hannover and then I got my BA in Illustration in Hamburg.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

Probably still In Hamburg with my dog Timmy and my Boyfriend, maybe getting my MA in Illustration and working hard as a successful freelance editorial illustrator. 

9. What about in ten?

I hope in ten years I have a little house somewhere in northern Germany, getting away from the noises of the city, having a nice atelier where I can print and work from and a big garden so I can grow my own veggies. 

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

First of all, I want to make a living out of it because drawing and creating is basically the only thing I’m good at and the only thing I want to do, and secondly, I want to create illustrations people can relate to and things they like to look at in connection with meaningful and important articles & products. 

@winterhart.studios

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

That depends on the day, but my two comfort foods are vegan nuggets, fries and salad or dal on the cold days.

12. Favourite book?

Probably quality land by Marc uwe kling.

13. Favourite genre of music? 

I guess Alternative, like „marlin’s dreaming or dope lemon, just something chill you can easily work and relax to.

14. What are your hobbies? 

I would say cooking is a big hobby of mine, doing yoga and drawing of cause. But my favorite thing of all time is taking long walks with my dog somewhere in the woods.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

As a child, I wanted to be a doctor, but I guess if I have to decide now, I would become a dietitian.

@winterhart.studios
@winterhart.studios