Instagram: @whimsybreezy_guak, @whimsybreezy_official
Facebook: www.facebook.com/yoojinguakillustration
Website: www.yoojinguak.com

 

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

Hi, my name is YooJin Guak and Iโ€™m currently working as a freelance illustrator and designer at my own art and design studio called Whimsy Breezy, located in Seoul, Korea. I was born and raised in Seoul until 13 years old, then I moved to Toronto, Canada where I stayed until I finished my undergraduate studies at OCADU. My family has always been my best supporter even if we were far away from each other while I was studying abroad. The biggest reason I decided to move back home was because of my supportive family.

์ €๋Š” ํ˜„์žฌ ์„œ์šธ์—์„œ ํ”„๋ฆฌ๋žœ์„œ๋กœ ํ™œ๋™์ค‘์ธ ์ผ๋Ÿฌ์ŠคํŠธ๋ ˆ์ดํ„ฐ ๊ณฝ์œ ์ง„์ž…๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ํ˜„์žฌ ์ œ ๊ฐœ ์ธ ์ž‘์—…์‹ค์ธ โ€˜์œ”์ง€๋ธŒ๋ฆฌ์ง€โ€™์—์„œ ์ฐฝ์ž‘๋ฌผ์„ ๋งŒ๋“ค๊ณ  ์žˆ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. 14์‚ด ๋•Œ ํ† ๋ก ํ† ๋กœ ์œ ํ•™์„ ๊ฐ”๊ณ , OCADU ๋Œ€ํ•™์—์„œ ํ•™์—…์„ ๋งˆ์นœ ํ›„ ํ•œ๊ตญ์œผ๋กœ ๊ท€๊ตญํ•˜์˜€์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ํ•œ๊ตญ์— ๋Œ์•„์˜ค๊ฒŒ ๋œ ๊ฐ€์žฅ ํฐ ๊ณ„๊ธฐ๋Š” ์ œ๊ฐ€ํ•˜๋Š” ์ž‘์—…์— ๋Œ€ํ•ด ์กฐ์–ธํ•ด์ฃผ๊ณ  ์ง€์†์ ์œผ๋กœ ์˜์ง€๊ฐ€ ๋˜์–ด์ค€ ๊ฐ€ ์กฑ๋“ค ๋•Œ๋ฌธ์ž…๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

1_namib_desert_yoojinguak

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

My work is all about colors, shapes, compositions, and patterns. Sometimes I make humorous and whimsical images, other times I make very serious conceptual illustrations. It all depends on what I am inspired by at the time. These days, I draw and paint immediately when Iโ€™m inspired by things I see or experienced.

์ œ ์ž‘์—…์€ ์ฃผ๋กœ ์ƒ‰๊ฐ, ๋ชจํ˜•, ๊ตฌ๋„, ๊ทธ๋ฆฌ๊ณ  ํŒจํ„ด์— ์ง‘์ค‘๋˜์–ด ์žˆ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ๊ทธ๋•Œ๊ทธ๋•Œ ๋– ์˜ค ๋ฅด๋Š” ๊ฐ์„ฑ์— ๋”ฐ๋ผ ์ž‘์—…์— ์˜ํ–ฅ์ด ๋งŽ์ด ๊ฐ€๋Š”๋ฐ, ๋•Œ๋กœ๋Š” ์œ ๋จธ๋Ÿฌ์Šคํ•˜๊ณ  ๋”ฐ๋œปํ•œ ์ด๋ฏธ์ง€ ๋ฅผ ํ‘œํ˜„ํ•˜๊ฑฐ๋‚˜, ๋•Œ๋กœ๋Š” ์‹ฌ์˜คํ•œ ์ปจ์…‰์Šˆ์–ผ ์ด๋ฏธ์ง€๋ฅผ ๊ทธ๋ฆฌ๊ธฐ๋„ ํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ์š”์ฆ˜์—๋Š” ์ฃผ๋กœ ์ œ๊ฐ€ ๋ณด๊ณ  ๊ฒฝํ—˜ํ•œ ๊ฒƒ์„ ํ†ตํ•ด ์˜๊ฐ์„ ์–ป์„๋•Œ๋งˆ๋‹ค, ๊ทธ๋•Œ๊ทธ๋•Œ ๋ฐ”๋กœ ๋“œ๋กœ์ž‰์ด๋‚˜ ํŽ˜์ธํŒ… ์„ ํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

It is hard to choose one since itโ€™s always changing time to time. For a time I would use acrylic paint, but these days Iโ€™m really in love with watercolor. It is fascinating to see how the images turn out when you use watercolor because you have to paint very quickly and finish your piece almost all at once. Also I use watercolor straight from the tube rather than allowing it dry. This way allows me to achieve more vibrant and strong colors.

์ตœ๊ทผ์—๋Š” ์ˆ˜์ฑ„ํ™”์˜ ๋งค๋ ฅ์— ํ‘น ๋น ์ ธ์„œ ์ง€๋‚ด๊ณ  ์žˆ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ์˜ˆ์ „์—๋Š” ์•„ํฌ๋ฆด ๋ฌผ๊ฐ์„ ๋งŽ ์ด ์‚ฌ์šฉํ•˜์˜€๋Š”๋ฐ, ์ตœ๊ทผ์—๋Š” ์ฃผ๋กœ ๋ง๋ฆฌ์ง€ ์•Š์€ ์ˆ˜์ฑ„ํ™” ๋ฌผ๊ฐ์„ ๋ฐ”๋กœ ์งœ๋‚ด์„œ ์“ฐ๋Š” ํŽธ์ž… ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ๋ฐ”๋กœ ์งœ๋‚ด์„œ ์‚ฌ์šฉํ•  ๊ฒฝ์šฐ ์ผ๋ฐ˜์ ์ธ ์ˆ˜์ฑ„ํ™” ๋ฌผ๊ฐ์ด ๋ณด์—ฌ์ฃผ๋Š” ์ปฌ๋Ÿฌ๋ณด๋‹ค ๋” ๊ฐ•ํ•œ ์ƒ‰๊ฐ์„ ๋‚˜ํƒ€๋‚ผ ์ˆ˜ ์žˆ๊ณ , ํŠนํžˆ ์ˆ˜์ฑ„ํ™” ๋ฌผ๊ฐ์˜ ํŠน์„ฑ ์ƒ ๋น ๋ฅธ ์‹œ๊ฐ„ ์•ˆ์— ์ž‘์—…์„ ์™„์„ฑํ•ด์•ผ ํ•˜๋Š”๋ฐ, ๊ทธ๋ ‡๊ฒŒ ๋‚˜์˜ค๋Š” ๊ฒฐ๊ณผ๋ฌผ์ด ์ƒ๋‹นํžˆ ๋งค๋ ฅ์ ์ž…๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

4. What is your artistic process like?

I love to research a lot of different things in the media, on the internet, browse through blogs, Instagram for inspiration. In particular I like to see a lot of things about fashion, food, travel, nature, and dogs. I then save the images or write down some phrases which Iโ€™m inspired by, and I draw straight from the images. When Iโ€™m working on projects or making conceptual images, I summarize the topic I need to work on in one sentence, and then brainstorm rough sketches and ideas.

์ €๋Š” ๋‹ค์–‘ํ•œ ๋งค์ฒด์—์„œ ์ž๋ฃŒ๋ฅผ ์ฐพ์•„๋ณด๋ฉฐ ๋ฆฌ์„œ์น˜ ํ•˜๋Š” ๊ฒƒ์„ ์ฆ๊น๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ํŠนํžˆ ์›น์‚ฌ์ดํŠธ, ๋ธ”๋กœ๊ทธ, ์ธ์Šคํƒ€๊ทธ๋žจ ๋“ฑ์—์„œ ์ œ๊ฐ€ ์ข‹์•„ํ•˜๋Š” ๊ธ€์ด๋‚˜ ์ด๋ฏธ์ง€๋ฅผ ๋ณด๊ณ  ์˜๊ฐ์„ ๋ฐ›๋Š” ํŽธ์ธ ๋ฐ, ๊ทธ ์ค‘ ํŠนํžˆ ํŒจ์…˜, ์Œ์‹, ์—ฌํ–‰, ์ž์—ฐ, ๊ฐ•์•„์ง€์— ๊ด€๋ จ๋œ ์ด๋ฏธ์ง€์— ๋Œ€ํ•ด ๊ด€์‹ฌ ์žˆ๊ฒŒ ์ฐพ ์•„๋ด…๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ๊ทธ๋Ÿฌ๋‹ค ๋งˆ์Œ์—๋“œ๋Š” ๋ฌธ๊ตฌ๋ฅผ ์ ์–ด๋†“๊ฑฐ๋‚˜ ์ €์žฅํ•ด๋‘๊ณ , ๊ทธ๊ฒƒ์„ ํ† ๋Œ€๋กœ ๋ฐ”๋กœ ๋“œ๋กœ์ž‰์„ ์‹œ์ž‘ํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ํ”„๋กœ์ ํŠธ๋ฅผ ์ง„ํ–‰ํ•˜๊ฑฐ๋‚˜ ์ปจ์…‰์Šˆ์–ผ ์ผ๋Ÿฌ์ŠคํŠธ๋ ˆ์ด์…˜ ์ž‘์—…์„ ํ•  ๋•Œ์—๋Š”, ์ฃผ์ œ๋ฅผ ํ•œ ๋ฌธ์žฅ์œผ๋กœ ์••์ถ•ํ•˜์—ฌ ์ ์–ด๋†“๊ณ  ๊ทธ๊ฒƒ์„ ๊ณฑ์”น์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ๊ทธ ์ดํ›„ ๋ธŒ๋ ˆ์ธ ์Šคํ† ๋ฐ์„ ํ•˜๋ฉฐ ๋– ์˜ค๋ฅด๋Š” ์•„์ด๋””์–ด๋ฅผ ์Šค์ผ€์น˜ํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

5. Who and/or what inspires your work?

Everything. People around me, things I see, dogs, fashion, food, music,
books..everything!

๋ชจ๋“  ๊ฒƒ์—์„œ ์˜๊ฐ์„ ์–ป์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ์ œ ์ฃผ๋ณ€ ์‚ฌ๋žŒ๋“ค, ์ œ๊ฐ€ ๋ณด๋Š” ๋ชจ๋“  ๊ฒƒ๋“ค, ๊ฐ•์•„์ง€, ํŒจ์…˜, ์Œ ์‹ ์Œ์•…, ์ฑ… ๋“ฑ…์ฃผ์œ„์˜ ๋ชจ๋“  ์‚ฌ๋ฌผ์„ ์ฐธ์กฐํ•˜๊ณ  ๊ณ ๋ฏผํ•˜๋ฉฐ ์˜๊ฐ์„ ์–ป์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

I started to draw since I was very little, around 2 years old or so, and my momโ€™s passion for art has inspired me a lot. Sheโ€™s not working in art field, but she used to paint beside her work and I was always fascinated by her painting. Art is just part of my life. I like to express my emotions and feelings through my drawings and paintings. Sometimes I try to represent them in a visual metaphor, especially when I feel down, as it helps to relieve my stress at some point. If you see some of my drawings, they can be very serious and emotional, but most of them are pretty happy and whimsical.

์ €๋Š” 2์‚ด ๋•Œ๋ถ€ํ„ฐ ๊ทธ๋ฆผ์„ ๊ทธ๋ ธ๋˜ ๊ฒƒ ๊ฐ™์€๋ฐ, ์–ด๋จธ๋‹ˆ์˜ ๊ทธ๋ฆผ์— ๋Œ€ํ•œ ์—ด์ •์ด ์ €์—๊ฒŒ ๋งŽ ์€ ์˜ํ–ฅ์„ ์ฃผ์—ˆ๋‹ค๊ณ  ๋ด…๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ์–ด๋จธ๋‹ˆ๊ป˜์„œ๋Š” ์˜ˆ์ˆ ์—…๊ณ„์— ์ข…์‚ฌํ•˜์‹œ์ง€๋Š” ์•Š์ง€๋งŒ, ์ผ์„ ํ•˜์‹œ๋ฉด์„œ๋„ ํ‹ˆํ‹ˆ์ด ๊ทธ๋ฆผ์„ ๊พธ์ค€ํžˆ ๊ทธ๋ฆฌ์…จ๊ณ , ์ „ ์–ด๋ฆฐ ๋‚˜์ด์—๋„ ํ•ญ์ƒ ์–ด๋จธ๋‹ˆ์˜ ๊ทธ๋ฆผ ์„ ๋ณด๋ฉฐ ๊ฐํƒ„ํ–ˆ๋˜ ๊ธฐ์–ต์ด ๋‚ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ์ด๋Ÿฐ ํ™˜๊ฒฝ์—์„œ ์ž๋ผ์™”๊ธฐ ๋•Œ๋ฌธ์— ์˜ˆ์ˆ ์€ ์ €์˜ ์‚ถ์˜ ์ผ๋ถ€๋ผ๊ณ  ์ƒ๊ฐํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ์ €๋Š” ์ €์˜ ๊ฐ์ •๊ณผ ๋Š๋‚Œ์„ ์ž‘์—…์œผ๋กœ ๋‚˜ํƒ€๋‚ด๋Š” ๊ฒƒ์„ ์ข‹์•„ํ•˜๋Š” ๋ฐ, ํŠนํžˆ ์ œ๊ฐ€ ํž˜๋“  ์ผ์ด ์žˆ๊ฑฐ๋‚˜ ์šฐ์šธํ•  ๋•Œ์˜ ๊ฐ์ •์„ ์€์œ ์ ์œผ๋กœ ์ž‘์—… ์•ˆ์—์„œ ํ‘œํ˜„ํ•˜ ๋Š” ๊ฒƒ์„ ์ฆ๊ธฐ๊ณ , ์ด๋Ÿฌํ•œ ๊ฐ์ •์ด ์ž‘ํ’ˆ์œผ๋กœ ๋“œ๋Ÿฌ๋‚˜ ์™„์„ฑ๋˜์—ˆ์„ ๋•Œ ์นดํƒ€๋ฅด์‹œ์Šค๋ฅผ ๋Š๋‚ ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ์ œ ์ž‘ํ’ˆ ์ค‘ ์ผ๋ถ€๋Š” ์‹ฌ์˜คํ•œ ์ด๋ฏธ์ง€๋ฅผ ํ‘œํ˜„ํ•˜๊ธฐ๋„ ํ•˜์ง€๋งŒ, ๋Œ€์ฒด์ ์œผ๋กœ ๋ฐ๊ณ  ๋”ฐ๋“ฏ ํ•œ ๋Š๋‚Œ์˜ ์ž‘์—…์ด ๋งŽ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

6.NotAnymore_yoojinguak

7. Where did you study?

I studied illustration at OCAD University in Toronto, Canada.

์ €๋Š” ์บ๋‚˜๋‹ค ํ† ๋ก ํ† ์— ์œ„์น˜ํ•œ OCADU ์—์„œ ์ผ๋Ÿฌ์ŠคํŠธ๋ ˆ์ด์…˜์„ ์ „๊ณตํ•˜์˜€์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

Probably I will still be working as an illustrator or painter. Maybe I would make more art products from my studio and selling them worldwide.

์•„๋งˆ ๊ทธ๋•Œ๋„ ์ผ๋Ÿฌ์ŠคํŠธ๋ ˆ์ดํ„ฐ๋กœ์„œ ์ž‘์—…์„ ํ•˜๋ฉฐ ์ง€๋‚ด์ง€ ์•Š์„๊นŒ ์‹ถ์–ด์š”. ์ œ ์ž‘์—…์œผ๋กœ ์˜ˆ์ˆ  ์ƒํ’ˆ์„ ๋” ๋งŒ๋“ค์–ด์„œ ๋‹ค์–‘ํ•œ ๋‚˜๋ผ์—์„œ ํŒ๋งคํ•˜๊ณ  ์žˆ์„ ์ˆ˜๋„ ์žˆ๊ณ ์š”.

9. What about in ten?

I do not know where I would be. May be I might have some kids or dogs, maybe living in different city or country with my husband, but anyhow I will still be making art.

10๋…„ ํ›„์—๋Š” ์–ด๋””์—์„œ ์–ด๋–ค ์ผ์„ ํ•˜๊ณ  ์žˆ์„์ง€ ๋ชจ๋ฅด๊ฒ ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ์•„์ด๋ฅผ ๋‚ณ์•„ ๊ธฐ๋ฅผ ์ˆ˜๋„, ๊ฐ•์•„์ง€์™€ ํ•จ๊ป˜ ์‚ด๊ณ  ์žˆ์„ ์ˆ˜๋„ ์žˆ๊ณ , ๋‹ค๋ฅธ ๋„์‹œ๋‚˜ ๋‹ค๋ฅธ ๋‚˜๋ผ์—์„œ ์ œ ๋‚จํŽธ๊ณผ ํ•จ๊ป˜ ์‚ด๊ณ  ์žˆ์„์ง€๋„ ๋ชจ๋ฅด๊ฒ ์–ด์š”. ๊ทธ๋ ‡๋‹ค ํ•ด๋„ ๊ทธ๋•Œ๋„ ์—ฌ์ „ํžˆ ๊ทธ๋ฆผ์€ ๊ทธ๋ฆฌ๊ณ  ์žˆ์„ ๋“ฏ ํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

I would love to create images that can make people smile and give them comfort. As I feel joy and get excitement every time I have a new assignment, I hope the results of my artwork would make others feel the same way I do when they see my final work.

์ œ ์ž‘ํ’ˆ์œผ๋กœ ์ธํ•ด์„œ ๋‹ค๋ฅธ ์‚ฌ๋žŒ๋“ค์ด ๋ฏธ์†Œ๋ฅผ ์ง€์—ˆ์œผ๋ฉด ์ข‹๊ฒ ๊ณ , ์œ„๋กœ๊ฐ€ ๋  ์ˆ˜ ์žˆ๋Š” ๊ทธ๋ฆผ ์„ ๊ทธ๋ฆฌ๊ณ  ์‹ถ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ์ƒˆ๋กœ์šด ํ”„๋กœ์ ํŠธ๋‚˜ ์˜๋ขฐ๋ฅผ ๋ฐ›์„ ๋•Œ๋งˆ๋‹ค ํ•ญ์ƒ ๊ธฐ์˜๊ณ  ์ฆ๊ฑฐ์šด๋ฐ, ๊ทธ ๊ธฐ๋ถ„์„ ํ”„๋กœ์ ํŠธ ๊ฒฐ๊ณผ๋ฌผ์„ ๋ณด๋ฉด์„œ๋„ ๋Š๋ผ๊ณ  ์‹ถ๊ณ , ์ œ ์ž‘ํ’ˆ์„ ๋ณด๋Š” ์‚ฌ๋žŒ๋“ค๋„ ๋™์ผ ํ•œ ๋Š๋‚Œ์„ ๋ฐ›์•˜์œผ๋ฉด ํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

7.calendar2018_yoojinguak

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

I love chicken. Especially Korean chicken dish like Chi-mac (fried chicken and
beer), Jjim Dak(braised chicken), Dak galbi (spicy stir fried chicken), and Sam gyetang(Gingeng chicken soup). I love sushi and pizza as well.

์ €๋Š” ๋‹ญ ์š”๋ฆฌ๋ฅผ ๋ฌด์ฒ™ ์ข‹์•„ํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ํŠนํžˆ ํ•œ๊ตญ์‹ ๋‹ญ ์š”๋ฆฌ์š”. ์น˜๋งฅ, ์ฐœ๋‹ญ, ๋‹ญ๊ฐˆ๋น„, ์‚ผ๊ณ„ ํƒ•.. ๋‹ค ์ข‹์•„์š”. ์Šค์‹œ์™€ ํ”ผ์ž๋„ ์ข‹์•„ํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

12. Favourite book?

Iโ€™ve been reading a book called โ€˜Keeping a Distanceโ€™ by Japanese author Ayako
Sono. Iโ€™ve read it several times already.

์š”์ฆ˜ ์ฝ๊ณ  ์žˆ๋Š” ์ฑ…์€ ์†Œ๋…ธ ์•„์•ผ์ฝ”์˜ โ€˜์•ฝ๊ฐ„์˜ ๊ฑฐ๋ฆฌ๋ฅผ ๋‘๋‹คโ€™ ๋ผ๋Š” ์ฑ…์ž…๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ์ตœ๊ทผ ์—ฌ๋Ÿฌ ๋ฒˆ ์ฝ์—ˆ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

13. Favourite genre of music?

I listen to everything. These days, Iโ€™m listening to Frank Ocean and K-hiphop.

์žฅ๋ฅด๋ฅผ ๊ฐ€๋ฆฌ์ง€ ์•Š๊ณ  ๋‹ค ๋“ฃ๋Š” ๊ฒƒ ๊ฐ™์•„์š”. ์š”์ฆ˜์—๋Š” Frank Ocean์˜ ๋…ธ๋ž˜์™€, ํ•œ๊ตญ ํž™ํ•ฉ ์— ๋น ์ ธ์žˆ์–ด์š”.

14. What are your hobbies?

Go out and eat, socializing with my friends, watching Korean TV shows.

๋‚˜๊ฐ€์„œ ์ข‹์•„ํ•˜๋Š” ์‚ฌ๋žŒ๋“ค๊ณผ ๋ง›์žˆ๋Š” ๊ฒƒ ๋จน๊ณ , ์ˆ˜๋‹ค ๋–จ๊ณ , ๊ทธ๋ฆฌ๊ณ  ํ•œ๊ตญ ์‡ผ ํ”„๋กœ ๋ณด๋Š” ๊ฒƒ ์„ ์ฆ๊น๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

May be I would be a matchmaker. haha. We have a company called Duo in Korea,
itโ€™s the matchmaking company for the purpose of marriage, and my friends make
fun of me saying I should run Guakโ€™s Duo. Iโ€™ve arranged a lot of blind dates for
people around and itโ€™s just so delightful to see when they are happy together.

์ œ๊ฐ€ ์˜ˆ์ˆ ๊ฐ€๊ฐ€ ์•„๋‹ˆ์—ˆ๋‹ค๋ฉด, ์ €๋Š” ์•„๋งˆ ๊ฒฐํ˜ผ์ •๋ณดํšŒ์‚ฌ์—์„œ ์ผํ•˜๊ณ  ์žˆ์ง€ ์•Š์„๊นŒ ์‹ถ๋„ค ์š”. ํ•˜ํ•˜. ์ œ ์นœ๊ตฌ๋“ค์ด ๊ณฝโ€™๋“€์˜คโ€™๋ผ๊ณ  ๋†€๋ฆด ์ •๋„๋กœ ์‚ฌ๋žŒ๋“ค ์„œ๋กœ ์†Œ๊ฐœํ•ด์ฃผ๊ณ  ์ด์–ด์ฃผ๋Š” ๊ฒƒ์„ ์ข‹์•„ํ•ด์š”. ์ฃผ๋ณ€์‚ฌ๋žŒ๋“ค์ด ํ•จ๊ป˜ ๊ธฐ๋ปํ•˜๋Š” ๋ชจ์Šต์„ ๋ณด๋ฉด ์ €๋„ ๊ธฐ๋ป์š”.

5.mommypig_yoojinguak3.kaisendon_yg2_swiss_yoojinguak14.MOSCA_yoojinguak