Instagram: @tpienczak

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

I live in Warsaw where I have my studio and where I own clothing brand GRUO. Warsaw is also a place from which I travel around to find new places of interest and inspirations.


2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

I like simple stories and means of expression. I value clarity and order. It refers to everything, ranging from the interiors in which I spend my time on the designs I create. In my illustrations, I show stories that interest me the most – the stories of real people whom I observe every day. Sometimes, I enjoy overloading my works with details.

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

Currently, I draw directly on Ipad Pro with the support of a pen and a sketchbook. However, my work is not only creating pictures – my contacts, calendar, or social media are organized by my iPhone and the technical issues I manage through Mac Pro. Due to the fact that I travel a lot, I prefer to have a mobile office which is always with me.

4. What is your artistic process like?

My life is a steady routine mingled with crazy journeys. The best working day for me is the one when I have everything planned – I need peace and quiet to be creative and come up with new things. Moreover, I am quite rigoristic – I am not waiting for the afflation or inspiration. I rely on focus, concentration, and hard work.

5. Who and/or what inspires your work?

I am inspired by everything that I see on the streets, people and scenes from everyday life. Being too long in one place bores me – that is why I often go abroad into the world in order to seek new inspirations and ideas. It is like clicking the β€œreset” button for me and I can return to my studio with the head full of new ideas. Lots of notions are given to me by my wife who is my ghostwriter.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

I am keen on being surrounded by pretty things – it makes me feel good and gives me the motivation to work. Art is very important to me – it develops me culturally, and because of it, I acknowledge topics about which I don’t think on a daily basis. The observation of art makes me more perceptive in everyday life.


7. Where did you study?

I studied two majors: design and political marketing. After that, I was a lecturer at the university and I was teaching graphics and approaches to think about it. I am self-taught and practical, I don’t believe that studies gave me something which I didn’t teach myself.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

I don’t work in an agency anymore – I advanced from the junior to the art director and decided to leave that job. In 5 years I want to be happy about illustrating and what I do. I want you to wear my clothes with a smile and to have my illustrations at your house – that would be great.

9. What about in ten?

In 10 years, I invite you to my clothes shop in New York in Soho or in Williamsburg.

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

The happiness of creating is the most important for me. If this can bring joy to other people, who enjoy my work, then it is the utmost pleasure for me.


11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

Primarily, I eat vegetatively, I avoid any food chemistry or processed food although it is difficult. I am really fond of Asian cuisine which was brought to my attention by my wife. In Thailand, Malaysia or Indonesia, I ate wonderful things that can be faked in Europe. I also enjoy cooking in a freestyle form – that is why I don’t use recipes. The dishes that are made in our home are one of the best I’ve eaten.

12. Favourite book?

I regularly read travelling blogs – descriptions and accounts from journeys that people make around the globe. My favourite one is ours:, which describes our adventures during our trips – I am very attached to it and it always reminds me of good memories.

13. Favourite genre of music?

I am keen on listening what brought me up – that is rap – which is fat and spicy like donuts with chilli. However, I am also open to new and fresh pieces – I enjoy the sunny disco from 70s, sometimes I want to listen to some chill music or electronic music at a party. I really don’t like the radio hits or wedding music.

14. What are your hobbies?

Beside the fact that I always think about illustration and clothes, I worship travelling which I try to do regularly. It makes it possible for me to discover shops, galleries, pubs and bars – I really like it. When it comes to sport – I enjoy riding a bike. But most of all, I adore petting my cat, which is adorable.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

I could have my own guesthouse in Barcelona – I would take in people from all around the world in a cozy and moody place. I would also treat them with vegan delicacies. Though being an illustrator doesn’t exclude that!