Instagram: @seul_art_

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

Hello! My name is Seulgi Park, currently working as an illustrator in South Korea.

I have always been interested in art since childhood and drawing was my favorite hobby. I developed a passion for drawing as I engaged in art club activities at school. I wanted to further pursue a career in the field, so I chose to major in Western Painting at university. After I graduated, I have been working as an illustrator and an art teacher.

์•ˆ๋…•ํ•˜์„ธ์š”! ํ˜„์žฌ ํ•œ๊ตญ์—์„œ ์ผ๋Ÿฌ์ŠคํŠธ๋ ˆ์ดํ„ฐ๋กœ ํ™œ๋™ ์ค‘์ธ ๋ฐ•์Šฌ๊ธฐ์ž…๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

์ €๋Š” ์–ด๋ ธ์„ ๋•Œ๋ถ€ํ„ฐ ๋ฏธ์ˆ ์— ๋Œ€ํ•ด ๊ด€์‹ฌ์ด ๋งŽ์•˜๊ณ  ๊ทธ๋ฆผ ๊ทธ๋ฆฌ๋Š” ๊ฒƒ์€ ์ œ๊ฐ€ ๊ฐ€์žฅ ์ข‹์•„ํ•˜๋Š” ์ทจ๋ฏธ์˜€์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ํ•™์ฐฝ์‹œ์ ˆ์— ๋ฏธ์ˆ ๋™์•„๋ฆฌ ํ™œ๋™์„ ์‹œ์ž‘ํ•˜๋ฉด์„œ ๊ทธ๋ฆผ์„ ๋” ์ž˜ ๊ทธ๋ฆฌ๊ณ  ์‹ถ์–ด์กŒ๊ณ 

๋˜ ๋ฏธ์ˆ ์— ๋Œ€ํ•ด ์ „๋ฌธ์ ์œผ๋กœ ๋ฐฐ์›Œ๋ณด๊ณ  ์‹ถ์–ด์„œ ๋ฏธ์ˆ ๋Œ€ํ•™์— ์ง„ํ•™ํ–ˆ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

๊ทธ ๋’ค ์ผ๋Ÿฌ์ŠคํŠธ๋ ˆ์ดํ„ฐ์™€ ๋ฏธ์ˆ ๊ฐ•์‚ฌ๋กœ ํ™œ๋™ํ•˜๊ณ  ์žˆ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

1964B822-15B8-47FB-A1FA-96BDC3292E01

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

I love warm color tones like soft pastels and simple & minimal figures.

ํŒŒ์Šคํ…” ํ†ค์˜ ๋ถ€๋“œ๋Ÿฝ๊ณ  ๋”ฐ๋œปํ•œ ์ƒ‰์ƒ๊ณผ ๋‹จ์ˆœํ•œ ํ˜•ํƒœ๋ฅผ ์ข‹์•„ํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

I used to use oil paints & acrylic paint a lot, but now I work with my iPad most of the time. This technology has provided me great flexibility to draw anywhere.

์ˆ˜์ž‘์—…์œผ๋กœ ๊ทธ๋ฆด ๋•Œ๋Š” ์œ ํ™”๋‚˜ ์•„ํฌ๋ฆด ๋ฌผ๊ฐ์„ ๋งŽ์ด ์‚ฌ์šฉํ–ˆ๋Š”๋ฐ ํ˜„์žฌ๋Š” ์•„์ดํŒจ๋“œ๋กœ ์ž‘์—…์„ ํ•˜๊ณ  ์žˆ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ์•„์ดํŒจ๋“œ๋Š” ์–ด๋Š ์žฅ์†Œ์—์„œ๋„ ๊ทธ๋ฆผ์„ ๊ทธ๋ฆด ์ˆ˜ ์žˆ๋‹ค๋Š” ํฐ ๋งค๋ ฅ์ด ์žˆ๋‹ค๊ณ  ์ƒ๊ฐํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

4. What is your artistic process like?

I catch on any images or words that pop into my head and record them on my iPad.

๊ทธ๋•Œ ๊ทธ๋•Œ ์ƒ๊ฐ๋‚˜๋Š” ์ด๋ฏธ์ง€์™€ ํ˜•ํƒœ๋“ค์„ ์•„์ดํŒจ๋“œ์— ์˜ฎ๊ฒจ ํ‘œํ˜„ํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ๋˜ํ•œ ๋งˆ์Œ์— ๋“œ๋Š” ๋ฌธ๊ตฌ๋‚˜ ์ด๋ฏธ์ง€๋Š” ํ•ธ๋“œํฐ์— ๊ธฐ๋กํ•ด๋‘๋Š” ํŽธ์ž…๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

5. Who and/or what inspires your work?

I get inspired by good movies, people, and little things in life. I also find creativity and motivation from my favorite artists such as David Hockney, Alex Katz, and Henri Matisse.

์ข‹์€ ์Œ์•…๊ณผ ์˜ํ™”, ์‚ฌ๋žŒ๋“ค, ์ผ์ƒ์˜ ์‚ฌ์†Œํ•œ ๊ฒƒ๋“ค์— ์˜๊ฐ์„ ๋ฐ›์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

๋˜ํ•œ ๋ฐ์ด๋น„๋“œ ํ˜ธํฌ๋‹ˆ์™€ ์•Œ๋ ‰์Šค ์นด์ธ , ์•™๋ฆฌ ๋งˆํ‹ฐ์Šค ๋“ฑ ์กด๊ฒฝํ•˜๋Š” ์—ฌ๋Ÿฌ ์•„ํ‹ฐ์ŠคํŠธ๋“ค์—๊ฒŒ ํ•ญ์ƒ ์ข‹์€ ์˜๊ฐ๊ณผ ์ž๊ทน์„ ๋ฐ›์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

Art is my best friend. It has always been there for me to comfort me during hard times and to bring me a sense of happiness. It gives me the ability to look at the world from diverse perspectives.

์ œ๊ฒŒ ์˜ˆ์ˆ ์ด๋ž€ ๊ฐ€์žฅ ๊ฐ€๊นŒ์šด ์นœ๊ตฌ ๊ฐ™์€ ์กด์žฌ์ž…๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ์˜ค๋žœ ์‹œ๊ฐ„ ๋™์•ˆ ์ €์˜ ๋ชจ๋“  ์ˆœ๊ฐ„๋“ค์„ ํ•จ๊ป˜ํ•ด์™”๊ณ  ๋งŽ์€ ์œ„๋กœ์™€ ํ–‰๋ณตํ•œ ๊ฐ์ •๋“ค์„ ๋Š๊ผˆ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ๋˜ํ•œ ์˜ˆ์ˆ ์€ ์ œ๊ฐ€ ์„ธ์ƒ์„ ์ข€ ๋” ๊ด€์‹ฌ์žˆ๊ฒŒ ๋ณผ ์ˆ˜ ์žˆ๊ฒŒ ํ•ด์ค๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ์‚ฌ์†Œํ•˜๊ณ  ํ‰๋ฒ”ํ•œ ๊ฒƒ๋“ค๋„ ๋‹ค์–‘ํ•œ ์‹œ๊ฐ์œผ๋กœ ์‚ฌ๊ณ ํ•  ์ˆ˜ ์žˆ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

698DDF6A-681C-490B-880A-D6386F850E29

7. Where did you study?

I studied fine arts at Sejong University in South Korea.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

In five years I would expect to have been successful in my career to the point that I am able to create inspiring artworks that influence many people in a positive way. I would also expect to hold a solo exhibition.

5๋…„ ๋’ค์—๋Š” ์ง€๊ธˆ๋ณด๋‹ค ๋” ์ข‹์€ ๊ทธ๋ฆผ์„ ๊ทธ๋ฆด ์ˆ˜ ์žˆ๋Š” ์‚ฌ๋žŒ์ด ๋˜๊ณ  ์‹ถ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

๊ทธ๋ฆฌ๊ณ  ๊ทธ๋ฆผ์„ ํ†ตํ•ด ๋งŽ์€ ์‚ฌ๋žŒ๋“ค์—๊ฒŒ ํ–‰๋ณตํ•œ ์˜ํ–ฅ์„ ์ฃผ๊ณ  ์‹ถ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ๋˜, ๊ฐœ์ธ์ „๋„ ์—ด๊ณ  ์‹ถ๋„ค์š”.

9. What about in ten?

In ten years I would be looking to take my career to the next level, open my own art gallery, and collaborate with many talented artists. I would also plan to establish a non-profit organization that provides free art classes for underprivileged children.

10๋…„ ํ›„์—๋„ ์ €๋Š” ๊ทธ๋ฆผ์„ ๊ทธ๋ฆฌ๊ณ  ์žˆ์ง€ ์•Š์„๊นŒ์š”? ์ œ ๊ทธ๋ฆผ์ด ๊ทธ๋ ค์ง„ ์ƒํ’ˆ๋“ค์„ ํŒ๋งคํ•˜๋Š” ๊ฐ€๊ฒŒ๋ฅผ ์—ด๊ณ  ์‹ถ๊ณ  ์—ฌ๋Ÿฌ ์•„ํ‹ฐ์ŠคํŠธ๋“ค, ๊ธฐ์—…๋“ค๊ณผ ์ฝœ๋ผ๋ณด๋„ ์ง„ํ–‰ํ•˜๊ณ  ์‹ถ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ๊ทธ๋ฆฌ๊ณ  ์—ฌ๋Ÿฌ ์•„ํ‹ฐ์ŠคํŠธ๋“ค๊ณผ ํ•จ๊ป˜ ์–ด๋ ค์šด ํ™˜๊ฒฝ์˜ ์•„์ด๋“ค์—๊ฒŒ ๋ฌด๋ฃŒ ๋ฏธ์ˆ ์ˆ˜์—…์„ ํ•ด์ฃผ๋Š” ๋‹จ์ฒด๋ฅผ ๋งŒ๋“ค๊ณ  ์‹ถ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

I hope that people have a feeling of pleasure and happiness through my artwork. My ultimate goal is to produce a comforting piece of art for people in distress.

์ œ ์ž‘ํ’ˆ์„ ๋ณผ ๋•Œ ์ž ์‹œ๋ผ๋„ ํฌ๊ทผํ•˜๊ณ  ํ–‰๋ณตํ•œ ๊ฐ์ •์„ ๋Š๊ผˆ์œผ๋ฉด ์ข‹๊ฒ ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

์‚ฌ๋žŒ๋“ค์—๊ฒŒ ์œ„๋กœ๊ฐ€ ๋˜๋Š” ๊ธฐ๋ถ„ ์ข‹์€ ์ž‘ํ’ˆ๋“ค์„ ๊ทธ๋ ค๋‚˜๊ฐ€๊ณ  ์‹ถ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

B396DA8E-A072-46DA-B2FC-620D8B3BBF5C

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

Mint ice cream and ddukbokki(Korean rice cake snack) are my favorites.

๋ฏผํŠธ ์•„์ด์Šคํฌ๋ฆผ, ๊ทธ๋ฆฌ๊ณ  ๋–ก๋ณถ์ด!

12. Favourite book?

My favorite book is Art and Fear by David Bayles and Ted Orland. My friend gave it to me as a gift in college. It gives me the courage to pursue my career path in art.

๋ฐ์ด๋น„๋“œ ๋ฒ ์ผ์ฆˆ & ํ…Œ๋“œ ์˜ฌ๋žœ๋“œ์˜ โ€˜์˜ˆ์ˆ ๊ฐ€์—ฌ ๋ฌด์—‡์ด ๋‘๋ ค์šด๊ฐ€โ€™ ๋ผ๋Š” ์ฑ…์„ ์ข‹์•„ํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

๋Œ€ํ•™์ƒ ๋•Œ ๊ฐ™์€ ๊ณผ์˜ ์นœํ•œ ์นœ๊ตฌ์—๊ฒŒ ์„ ๋ฌผ ๋ฐ›์€ ์ฑ…์ธ๋ฐ ์ฐฝ์ž‘ํ™œ๋™์„ ๊ณ„์†ํ•  ์ˆ˜ ์žˆ๊ฒŒ ์šฉ๊ธฐ๋ฅผ ์ฃผ๋Š” ์ฑ…์ด๋ผ ์ง€๊ธˆ๋„ ๊พธ์ค€ํžˆ ์ฝ๊ณ  ์žˆ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

13. Favourite genre of music?

A lot of the time my music choices depend on my mood. I donโ€™t really have a preference, but recently I have been listening to Frank Ocean, Ruel, and a Korean indie group known as The Black Skirts.

๊ธฐ๋ถ„์— ๋”ฐ๋ผ ๋“ฃ๋Š” ์Œ์•…์˜ ์žฅ๋ฅด๊ฐ€ ๋‹ฌ๋ผ์ง‘๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ๋ณดํ†ต ์žฅ๋ฅด๋ฅผ ๊ฐ€๋ฆฌ์ง€ ์•Š๊ณ  ๋“ฃ๋Š” ํŽธ์ž…๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

์ตœ๊ทผ ์ž‘์—…ํ•  ๋•Œ๋Š” ํ”„๋žญํฌ ์˜ค์…˜๊ณผ ๋ฃจ์—˜, ๊ฒ€์ •์น˜๋งˆ์˜ ๋…ธ๋ž˜๋ฅผ ๋งŽ์ด ๋“ฃ๊ณ  ์žˆ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

14. What are your hobbies?

I enjoy listening to music, collecting postcards, and drawing at a cafe.

์Œ์•… ๋“ค์œผ๋ฉด์„œ ์‚ฐ์ฑ…ํ•˜๊ธฐ, ์—ฝ์„œ ๋ชจ์œผ๊ธฐ, ์นดํŽ˜์— ์•‰์•„์„œ ๊ทธ๋ฆผ๊ทธ๋ฆฌ๊ธฐ.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

I recall playing with baby dolls from my childhood. I went to the Fashion and Garment District in Seoul to buy fabric for sewing doll clothes. I also took some fashion design courses outside of my major in college. I would probably become a Fashion Editor if I was not an artist.

์–ด๋ ธ์„ ๋•Œ ์ธํ˜•๋†€์ด๋ฅผ ์ž์ฃผ ํ–ˆ๋Š”๋ฐ ๊ทธ๋•Œ ์ธํ˜• ์˜ท์„ ๋งŒ๋“ค๊ธฐ ์œ„ํ•ด์„œ ํ˜ผ์ž ๋™๋Œ€๋ฌธ์— ๊ฐ€์„œ ์ฒœ์„ ์‚ฌ์™€์„œ ์ง์ ‘ ๋งŒ๋“ค์—ˆ๋˜ ๊ธฐ์–ต์ด ์žˆ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ๋Œ€ํ•™์ƒ ๋•Œ๋Š” ํŒจ์…˜๋””์ž์ธ๊ณผ์˜ ์ „๊ณต์ˆ˜์—…๋„ ํ•จ๊ป˜ ๋“ค์—ˆ์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ์ง€๊ธˆ๋„ ํŒจ์…˜ ์žก์ง€๋ฅผ ์ฆ๊ฒจ๋ณด๊ณ  ๊ด€์‹ฌ์ด ๋งŽ๊ธฐ ๋•Œ๋ฌธ์— ๋งŒ์•ฝ ๊ทธ๋ฆผ์„ ๊ทธ๋ฆฌ์ง€ ์•Š์•˜๋‹ค๋ฉด ํŒจ์…˜ ์žก์ง€์˜ ์—๋””ํ„ฐ๋กœ ์ผํ•˜๊ณ  ์žˆ์„ ๊ฑฐ ๊ฐ™์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

1B3C0C10-A1E8-49FC-831E-97100709855F5784702F-BF5D-4386-8850-679005B2B671