Instagram: @profe.mx

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

Hi, Iʼm from Mexico and everybody calls me Profe. Iʼm designer and illustrator. Being a paleontologist was my original plan. After that, I wanted to be a professional football player but in the end, I found a nice place in graphics. Now Iʼm a person who has many hobbies and like to spend my time at the beach. 

Hola, soy de México y todos me dicen el profe. Soy diseñador e ilustrador.
Mi plan original era ser paleontólogo, luego quise ser futbolista profesional pero al final terminé encontrando un bonito lugar haciendo gráfica. Ahora soy alguien que tiene muchos pasatiempos y a quien le gusta pasar tiempo en la playa 

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

Iʼm in constant movement, I donʼt like to stay in the same place although is evident I have a preference for using geometry and natural elements and sober colors. 

Siempre estoy cambiando mucho, no me gusta quedarme demasiado tiempo en un mismo lugar, aunque es muy evidente que tengo una preferencia por la geometría y también con elementos de la naturaleza y colores sobrios. 

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

I feel really comfortable using paper and digital tools. I enjoy working with acrylics because of the textures and the honesty of making a mistake in a fiscal medium but most of the time I use digital tools such as Illustrator because of my job. 

Me siento muy cómodo utilizando papel y herramientas digitales. Honestamente
disfruto mucho trabajar con pinturas por las texturas y la honestidad de equivocarse en un medio físico pero mayormente y por mi trabajo utilizo illustrator. 

4. What is your artistic process like?

First of all, I spend time thinking about what I wanna illustrate. Once I have a clear idea, I start doing some basic doodles till I reach a sketch. In the process, I let myself some breaks to see movies, play video games and stuff like that just to make up for the time I spend sitting drawing. 

Paso tiempo pensando en lo que quiero hacer, después de tener una idea clara hago borradores para llegar hasta un boceto de lo que quiero lograr. En el proceso me permito tener tiempos fuera para ver películas, jugar videojuegos y otras cosas que compensen el tiempo que paso sentado dibujando. 

5. Who and/or what inspires your work? 

I feel very inspired by nature and all the forms of it, how complex it can be and we just donʼt notice because we are used to living around it. The beach inspires me and also, all the memories I have of being there. 

La naturaleza mi inspira mucho, las formas que la componen, lo compleja que puede llegar a ser y no lo notamos porque siempre vivimos rodeados de ella. Me inspira mucho la playa y mis memorias estando en ella. 

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

In the way I do it, art is a way to become a more conscious person about everything living around me. It makes me more empathic with the world, the flora, fauna and all the people. 

El arte en la forma como lo hago, es una forma de ser consciente de todo lo que vive a mi alrededor. Me hace ser más empático con el mundo, su fauna y su flora y sus personas. 

7. Where did you study?

I went to “Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México” (UNAM) 

Estudié en la Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

I see myself with an illustration studio in Acapulco (the port I most appreciate in Mexico), designing with a great ocean view, as an established illustrator and taking the brand I own with Maga Rey (Wild Fontana) to the highest levels of quality. 

Con un estudio en Acapulco (el puerto que más aprecio de México), diseñando con vista al mar, como un ilustrador consolidado y llevando la marca que tengo junto con Maga Rey (Wild Fontana) a los niveles más altos de calidad. 

9. What about in ten?

I want it to be a surprise for me. Meanwhile, I do everything possible so that whatever happens, it could be something that I could enjoy as much as I enjoy what I do today.
The only thing clear is that I see myself living completely in peace, with my work, with my projects, with other people and with myself. Maybe living with two labradors dogs.

Quiero que para mí sea una sorpresa, mientras tanto hago todo lo posible para que sea lo que pase sea algo que disfrute tanto como hoy disfruto lo que hago.
Lo único claro es que me veo viviendo completamente en paz, con mi obra, con mis proyectos, con las demás personas y conmigo mismo. Quizá tenga dos perros labradores. 

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

I hope to become a more empathetic and curious person, aware of where I am. 

Espero volverme una persona más empática, más curiosa, consciente de dónde estoy.

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

Chile en Nogada (traditional mexican food) and pizza as well 

Chile en Nogada,(comida tradicional de México) y pizza. 

12. Favourite book?

Contact by Carl Sagan 

Contact, por Carl Sagan

13. Favourite genre of music? 

All of them, but my favorite artist is Juan Gabriel. 

Todos ellos, pero mi artista favorito es Juan Gabriel.

14. What are your hobbies? 

I like to play soccer, playing the drums and guitar, going to the movies. 

Jugar futbol, tocar la batería y la guitarra, ir al cine.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

I would have been a scientist, biologist or maybe an astrophysicist. A football player or I would have had been in a rock band. I’ve always wanted to be many things. 

Me hubiera gustado haber sido científico. Biólogo o quizá un astrofísico. Futbolista o tendría una banda de rock. Siempre quise ser muchas cosas.