Instagram: @popecheh

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

I was born in Croatia in 1988 and at the age of 6, my family moved to Serbia. I’d been drawing a lot when I was a child and during my primary school, but when I started high school, which the main subject was electronics my drawing habits started to decrease and by the age of 26 I was barely drawing at all. Overnight, it all changed and all of a sudden I’ve started to work on sharpening my skills every day since then.

1

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

For the past few months, I’ve been exploring the solid colors and linear style that has some comic and cartoonish influence.

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

From a practical point of view, I prefer digital space since you only need a screen and the tablet and you can work even from the bed. From time to time I go back and do stuff traditionally on paper too.

4. What is your artistic process like?

My process is pretty much ad hoc, but I often go back to develop further some old ideas. I must admit I rarely do sketches which I try to change and spend more time on planning.

5. Who and/or what inspires your work?

Those are things I hear, see or read about, and they are all related to some basic human condition and existential dilemmas.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

It’s quite a significant way of communication but it also gives a purpose and helps broaden the views and accept the world around you as it is.

7

7. Where did you study?

I guess I could say I’m self-taught but got a lot of help and support from a few friends who have the Art college degrees.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

I would like to work for some great 2d animation/illustration studio on some great projects.

9. What about in ten?

Maybe run my studio or collab with other people passionate about that idea too

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

Aside from aesthetic impression I tend to open the space for some introspective or external discussions about these human conditions and therefore may be to grow the awareness or to ease the acceptance.

6

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

Everything that pleases my gut, this is usually either some fresh fruits or some slowly cooked food.

12. Favourite book?

The Madman by Khalil Gibran

13. Favourite genre of music?

Hard to define, but could say everything a bit sad and melancholic but yet energetic.

14. What are your hobbies?

Cycling, swimming, political and social sciences, travels.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

Hmm, I don’t know, it depends on the surrounding, I’m quite resilient

82