@peeeteh

Instagram: @peeeteh
Website: www.peterhenderson.co.uk

 

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

I’m an English motion designer/illustrator originally from a small town just north of London. However, back in 2013, I decided to cycle solo down the length of South America. There I was lucky enough to meet my beautiful wife in Bolivia. After 3 years of a long distance relationship, travelling back and forth as we both studied, I moved out to Bolivia in July to freelance full time from here. I’m currently creating weekly animations for The Wall Street Journal’s Snapchat.

electric

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

I would describe it as a characterful, limited-palette, graphic illustration manipulated by light.

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

Everything digital, I fell in love with the accuracy of clicking a few years ago and haven’t looked back.

4. What is your artistic process like?

I like to jump straight into work, so I usually flood my head with various videos/images of the subject matter then close my eyes to create and visualise the scene and, in my head, move myself through the scene to find the best angle. I know, sounds a little odd.

5. Who and/or what inspires your work?

I’m hugely inspired by the platform Dribbble. For graphic arts and animated gifs, just looking through its homepage is incredibly inspiring. For my character design, I most often get inspiration from supermarkets. – Various people that I have seen in the supermarket with interesting fashion that I keep in my memory.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

For me, its an outlet. It’s a huge part of my life, not only through work, but as a way to share opinion and express my imagination. Projects that I’ve worked on have moulded various views that I have. That’s something I love about freelancing, I get to learn about so many different topics that I wouldn’t usually be exposed to.

themagicletter

7. Where did you study?

I studied at Arts University Bournemouth, England.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

With a puppy.

9. What about in ten?

With a child.

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

My main hope is that I can make a positive difference with my work. That people will be inspired by my stuff and take something positive away from it.

Avolatte

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

Nothing beats a Sunday Roast dinner from home.

12. Favourite book?

Anything Dr Seuss.

13. Favourite genre of music?

1980’s soul.

14. What are your hobbies?

I enjoy the odd bike ride. Lucky enough to have my main hobby as my job.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

I would like to hope, something adventurous.

Festival-seasonkindbeerhpWSJ-snaphipster