Instagram:聽@mikeperez.es
Website: www.mikeperez.es

1. What is your story? Where are you from?

My name is Mike Perez. I grew up in a city located north of Valencia, Spain. Since I was a child,聽I started drawing and I have had artistic inquietude (short films, paintings, comics …). I have been fortunate to be able to devote myself to my passion and professional work as an advertising creative and graphic designer for more than a decade. But I still have concerns and desire to evolve, that’s why this new stage is so powerful for me.

Mi nombre es Mike P脠rez. Crec脤 en una ciudad situada al norte de Valencia, Spain. Desde peque脪o he dibujado y he tenido inquetudes artisticas (cortometrajes,pintura, comic…). He tenido la suerte de poder dedicarme a mi pasi脹n y trabajar profesionalmente como creativo publicitario y dise脪ador gr路fico durante m路s de una decada. Pero sigo teniendo inquietudes y ganas de evolucionar, por eso es tan empocionante esta nueva etapa para mi.

jumpin_mikeperez

2. Tell us about your aesthetics.

I have gone through many phases, now I am at a place that I like, more free of aesthetic references, where the purpose is more interesting with my work. I like to play with organic forms, vibrant colors and textures.

He pasado por muchas fases, ahora estoy en un lugar que me gusta, m路s libre de referencias esteticas donde la finalidad es entretener al espectador con mi obra. Me gusta jugar con las formas organicas, colores vibrantes y texturas.

3. What is your favorite medium and why?

I move well in the audiovisual medium. I like digital illustration because of its speed. I also like animation, I’m in the post-production phase of what is my first short film, where the animation and the real image “Thod藛l” is combined.

Me muevo bien en el medio audiovisual. Me gusta la ilustraci脹n digital por su rapidez. Tambien me gusta la animaci脹n, estoy en fase de postproducci脹n del que ser路 mi primer cortometraje, donde se combina animci脹n e imagen real “Thod藛l”.

4. How is your artistic process?

I follow a rather rational process and that is efficient to arrive and to the satisfaction of the client. But when I work on my own work I only think about having fun. It is enough to be able to work.

Cuando se trata de un encargo siempre estas m路s limitado y sigo un proceso mas bien racional y que sea eficiente para llegar a plazos y a la satisfacci脹n del cliente. Pero cuando trabajo en mi propia obra solo pienso en divertirme, una idea, una pelicula una sensaci脹n es suficiente para poder trabajar.

5. Who and what inspires your work?

In general life. I am always attentive to new trends of all kinds, in music and cinema.

En general la vida. Estoy siempre atento a nuevas tendencias de todo tipo, en lo musical y en el cine.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does the way you see the world change?

I do not conceive life without expressing myself artistically, it is my language. It helps me express myself and聽to be able to create the world around me.

No concibo la vida sin expresarme artisticamente, es mi lenguaje. Me ayuda a expresarme y poder crear el mundo que me rodea.

fargo

7. Where did you study?

I studied Industrial Engineering and attended some creativity courses but I’m almost self-taught.

Estudie Ingenieria Industrial y algunos cursos de creatividad, pero soy pr路cticamente autodidacta.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

Well, if I’m still alive it would be a whole success … hehehe. Professionally I hope to have more work as an illustrator and advancing in my career as a director.

Pues si sigo vivo ser脤a un todo un exito…jejeje. Profesionalmente espero tener m路s trabajo como ilustrador y avanzando en mi carrera como director.

9. How about ten?

Well, keep what I got from five years ago!

Pues manteniendo lo que he coseguido hace cinco!

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

Communicated ideas, tell stories and entertain.

Comunicar ideas, contar historias y entretener.

grandhotelbudapest

11. Now, tell us a little more about yourself as a person: What is your favorite food?

What I like most is the baked rice that my mother makes and a good apple pie.

Lo que mas me gusta es el arroz al horno que hac脤a mi madre y una buena tarta de manzana.

12. favorite book?

A book that marked me, “Generation X” by Douglas Coupland.

Un libro que me marc脹 fue, “Generacion X” de Douglas Coupland.

13. Favorite genre of music?

I like hip hop, salsa, jazz, and blues. My favorite artists are Rub脠n Blades, an excellent Spanish musician named Santiago Auseron (Juan Perro) and in the international scene, I just discovered a Kamasi Washington and it blows me.

Me gusta el hip-hop, la salsa, el jazz y el blues. Mis artistas favoritos son Ruben Blades, un excelente musico espa脪ol llamado Santiago Auseron (Juan Perro) y en el panorama internacional, acabo de descubrir a Kamasi Washington y me flipa.

14. What are your hobbies?

Playing with my little daughter and my dog, Lucky. Watching a good movie or attending a good concert is always welcomed.

Jugar son mi hija peque脪a y mi perrita Lucky. Una buena peli o un buen concierto son bienvenidos.

15. If you were not an artist, what would you be?

Anything related to the craft.

Cualquier cosa relacionada con la artesania.

samurai_mikeperezcamo_1darjerling_limitedgodball_mikeperez