Instagram: @marina__barro

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

My name is Mari, I’m 26 and I’m from Costa Rica. I’m an engineer in industrial design and I’ve been working as a UX designer for four years.

Ceramics were not a part of my academic background, it’s something I luckily just ran into. Last year I took a course and something woke up inside of me, I felt the need to learn and create more. That led me to one of the best decisions of my life: cutting my working hours to have a free day for my personal projects. Mondays became my favorite day because I can work on my ceramics.

It was a huge and necessary change that gave me a new perspective because just before that I was going through a moment of creative block and motivation crisis. I strongly believe that personal projects are necessary for our mental health. Now I feel happier because I start the week doing what I like the most. During this time I was able to really focus on it and that’s how I started my project, Marina Barro. (Fun fact: My name is Mari Navarro, hence the name. Marina means “marine” and Barro means “clay”.)

Me llamo Mari, tengo 26 y soy de Costa Rica. Soy ingeniera en diseño industrial y trabajo como UX designer desde hace 4 años.

La cerámica no fue parte de mi formación académica, llegué a ella por cosas de la vida. El año pasado tomé un curso libre de cerámica y algo se despertó en mí, me dieron muchas ganas de aprender y crear más. Eso me llevó a tomar una de las mejores decisiones de mi vida: recortar mi jornada laboral un día para tener tiempo para mis proyectos personales. Los lunes se convirtieron en el día para dedicarme a la cerámica.

Fue un cambio grande y necesario que me dio una nueva perspectiva, porque justo antes de eso estaba pasando por una crisis de desmotivación y bloqueo creativo. Creo fuertemente que tener proyectos personales fuera del trabajo es sinónimo de salud mental. Ahora me siento más feliz porque empiezo la semana haciendo lo que más me gusta. En ese tiempo pude enfocarme bastante y así fue como empecé a darle forma a mi proyecto, Marina Barro. (Fun fact: Me llamo Mari Navarro, de ahí el nombre.)

marina-barro-5

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

I’ve been in this for a few months so I’m still learning and finding my style. I know that right now I am in a very early and experimental phase, and I respect this part of my process. For now, I can say that I am working a lot with organic forms. Eyes, plants, animals, and mutations of these figures…

I love the imperfections of the hand-building process and I know that is something that’s not gonna change in my aesthetic. I like all those small defects that reflect the human factor in the object.

Llevo pocos meses en esto y aún estoy aprendiendo y encontrando mi estilo. Sé que en este momento estoy en una fase muy temprana y experimental, y respeto esta parte de mi proceso. Por ahora puedo decir que estoy usando muchas formas orgánicas. Ojos, plantas, animales, y mutaciones de estas figuras…

Estoy enamorada de las imperfecciones del proceso artesanal y sé que eso sí es algo que se va a mantener en mi estética. Me gustan los pequeños defectos que reflejan ese factor tan humano plasmado en el objeto.

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

I think clay is a very intuitive material. It’s kind of as if our ancestors’ knowledge wakes when we have clay in our hands. You touch it and you simply know what to do. It is very therapeutic because it disconnects you from everything else. It’s like a moment of meditation, it makes you present and focused on what you have in front of you.

El barro me parece un material muy intuitivo. Lo tocás y sabés qué hacer, es como si el conocimiento de nuestros antepasados se despertara o algo así. Para mí es súper terapéutico porque me desconecta de todo lo demás. Es un momento muy lindo y hasta de meditación, te hace estar presente y concentrado en lo que tenés al frente.

4. What is your artistic process like?

My process is very changing and depends on how I feel. Sometimes I sketch, sometimes I don’t. Sometimes I have a vague idea and I start shaping it to see what comes out, other times I start with a clearer idea of what I want to do and it ends up mutating into a completely different thing. I think what’s important is that I enjoy it, without putting any pressure on myself.

I really like to take pictures of the whole process and see all the changes that the piece went through in each stage.

Mi proceso es muy cambiante y depende de cómo me sienta. A veces hago bocetos, a veces no. A veces tengo una idea vaga en la cabeza y empiezo a darle forma para ver qué sale, otras veces empiezo con una idea de lo que quiero hacer pero termina mutando en otra cosa completamente. Creo que lo importante es pasar un rato bonito, sin presionarme.

Me gusta mucho documentar todo el proceso con fotos y ver todas las etapas por las que pasó la pieza y cómo fue cambiando.

5. Who and/or what inspires your work?

My inspiration comes from the flora, the fauna and the human body. I like to combine all these elements.

Mi inspiración viene principalmente de, la flora, la fauna y el cuerpo humano. Me gusta combinar estos elementos.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

I am fascinated by the ability that us humans have to CREATE. Taking an idea and transforming it into something tangible, something that did not exist and now does, that has volume, shape, texture, weight, color… I just find it very exciting and powerful to bring something into existence.

I enjoy creating, it makes me happy and gives me a purpose. My day to day became a nonstop gathering of ideas for projects I want to do.

Me fascina esta habilidad que tenemos los humanos de CREAR. Tomar una idea que está en el aire y a través de algún medio material poder traducirla a algo tangible. Algo que no existía y ahora es. Que tiene volumen, forma, textura, peso, color… no sé, me parece muy emocionante y poderoso traer algo a la existencia.

Crear me hace feliz, me divierte y me da un propósito. Mi día a día se convirtió en una recurrente recolección de ideas para proyectos que quiero hacer.

marina-barro-4

7. Where did you study?

I studied Industrial Design Engineering in the Tecnológico de Costa Rica. Four years after I graduated I took a couple ceramics courses in the Universidad de Costa Rica. I found the pottery wheel really fun but the hand-built techniques (pinch, coils, slabs) were my favorite because of the endless things I could make with them and for the imperfections of the result.

Estudié Ingeniería en Diseño Industrial en el Tecnológico de Costa Rica. Cuatro años después de graduarme llevé un par de cursos libres de cerámica en la Universidad de Costa Rica, uno de técnicas manuales y otro de torno. El torno es divertido, pero las técnicas manuales me enamoraron por la infinidad de formas que se pueden crear y por lo imperfecto del resultado.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

Working independently. Besides ceramics, I am learning to tattoo so I’d like to have a place to explore these and other creative disciplines. I’d like it to be a space with a lot of energy and creative movement going on, and I hope it will also provide opportunities to other artists.

Trabajando por mi propia cuenta. Además de la cerámica estoy aprendiendo a tatuar entonces me gustaría tener algún espacio donde explotar estas y otras disciplinas. Quiero que sea un lugar con mucha energía y movimiento creativo, donde pasen muchas cosas, y que también pueda brindarle oportunidades a otros artistas.

9. What about in ten?

I don’t have such long term plans but I hope to be able to continue with my projects. Living somewhere amongst nature. And hopefully not so wrinkled.

No planeo a tan largo plazo pero espero seguir con mis proyectos creativos. Viviendo en algún lugar con más naturaleza. Y ojalá no estar tan arrugada.

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

I just want to feel happy creating, and if I can make someone else happy too, that’s a nice bonus. I also hope my art will take me places and connect with other people with whom I can create.

Nada más quiero sentirme feliz, y si de paso hago feliz a alguien más es un buen bonus. También quiero que mi arte me lleve a otros lugares y me acerque a otras personas con las que pueda crear en conjunto.

marina-barro-2

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

Rice and beans. It’s a spicy Caribbean dish made with coconut milk.

Rice and beans! Es un platillo caribeño de arroz y frijoles con leche de coco y chile habanero.

12. Favourite book?

The House of The Spirits, by Isabel Allende. I am currently reading it for the fifth time.

La Casa de Los Espíritus, Isabel Allende. Lo estoy leyendo por quinta vez 🙂

13. Favourite genre of music?

Lately, I’ve been listening mostly to rock in Spanish.

Últimamente lo que más escucho es rock en español.

14. What are your hobbies?

Gardening. Yoga. Being outside. Drawing and tattooing. And ceramics, of course.

Ciudar de mis plantas. Yoga. Estar al aire libre. Dibujar y tatuar. Y por supuesto la cerámica.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

I’d like to have a job that allows me to dive every day. Or something that involves plants or big mammals.

Me gustaría un trabajo en el que pueda bucear. O cuidar plantas o mamíferos grandes.

marina-barro-3marina-barro-1