Instagram: @marcobaccioli_illustration

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

I was born in Tuscany, Italy to a British family. I have spent most of my childhood between London and Lucca, a small medieval village close to Florence. I started my first freelance business when I was 20 years old, working as a graphic designer and 3D modeler. By the age of 23, I moved to Spain and spent a year working in Oviedo, a beautiful town in the northern part of the country. Once back in Italy, I continued my career in the art field working with customers from all over the world. Recently, I moved to Thailand in early 2021 where I am continuing to work as a freelance illustrator. 

@marcobaccioli_illustration

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

I love creating artworks that tell a story through colors and contrast, through negative spaces and shadows. I love to use simple color palettes, limited amount of colors, stylized shapes and rough natural edges. I pay great attention to composition, applying photography-like rules to achieve balance and readability. Simplicity is my master.

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

I work digitally with a Wacom Cintiq 16 Pro and love the natural feel I get from the Wacom Pen. I have tried other tablets but always come back to Wacom’s Cintiq series.

4. What is your artistic process like?

I start my creative process in Autodesk Sketchbook Pro due to its simple interface and natural feel. I love to play with ideas, sketches and scribbles. I then move my draft to Adobe Photoshop, where I start working with colors, brushes and textures. I always keep my 5 top colors for my palette on an easy-to-access layer, so I can constantly eye-drop my cursor and paint accordingly. Starting rough and slowly fine-tuning, adding more and more details, is a way to describe my approach. 

5. Who and/or what inspires your work? 

I’m constantly inspired by nature and the way lights, shadows and shapes offer the most creative canvas my mind can think of. Artists like Malika Fauvre, Charles Davis and Sam Chivers are great sources of inspiration to remind myself of the power of minimalism and color usage.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

Art has always played a fundamental role in my life. My mom used to take me to museums when I was a kid, a vividly remember staring at impressionists’ paintings for hours or listening to her talking about the use of color in renaissance art. 

@marcobaccioli_illustration

7. Where did you study?

I studied in the School of Arts in Lucca, Italy.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

I’m days away from having my first child so my visions for the upcoming years are filled with diapers, toys, children books and lots of fun and love.

9. What about in ten?

Right now, I’m living in Thailand with my wife, my three-legged dog and, as mentioned, the soon to come newborn, working as a full-time freelance illustrator. Our plans for the future are to move back to the States (my wife is Oregonian) or maybe somewhere in Europe. We are planning to extend our family with a second child after our first son. So, there you go, somewhere in USA or Europe, with a happy international vibrant family, still working as an illustrator.

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

I always aim to create illustrations that inspire feelings of playfulness, naivety, and childhoodlike magic. I believe the use of simple lines, color palates, and shapes touch emotive qualities directly. 

@marcobaccioli_illustration

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

I have a passion for salmon – cooked, grilled, baked or smoked. Having lived in Italy for many years I can’t deny how pasta or pizza still occupy top places on my list of favorite foods. Living in Asia helped me to explore new flavors. Thailand, for example, has some of the most delicious soups I have ever tried.

12. Favourite book?

Many, starting with Kafka’s “The Trial”, Standhal’s “The Red and the Black” and Luther Blisset’s “Q”. 

13. Favourite genre of music? 

I’m a big fan of metal, punk, stoner rock and new wave. But, oddly enough, I have a great passion for opera music too. 

14. What are your hobbies? 

Hiking, running and all kinds of outdoor activities. Here in Thailand, I got into Muay Thai (Thai boxing) and absolutely love it. Besides cooking, playing the guitar, and video gaming. I am also a huge fan of horror movies.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

Hard to know, but I think I would still be involved in some creative activity, probably related to music. So, there you go -a bass player in a hardcore band.

@marcobaccioli_illustration