@lust_in_space_

Instagram: @lust_in_space_
Behance: www.behance.net/LustInSpace
Society6: www.society6.com/lustinspace

 

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

My name is Alejandro Emanuel Gudiel, I’m 19 years old and I’m from Honduras, a beautiful and inspiring country. I never had any experience with art before, even though I dedicated to writing poetry but now that’s all gone.

burros-de-colores-ilust

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

My aesthetic is an inspiration of Memphis graphic design, full of colors and shapes of different sizes. I always thought of it as “art deco” aesthetic because of its common use, you can do many useful stuff with it, starting from mugs to floor tiles.

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

To be honest I’m not quite familiar with mediums such as Photoshop or Illustrator, to create my art pieces I use a drawing app on my phone named sketchbook which is really useful, so basically my phone is actually my tool.

4. What is your artistic process like?

I would like to say it is easy as how it looks, however it usually takes a lot of time and also effort because I think of the artwork finished and if it does not look as how I pictured it I start all over again. I also wander around towns or the city to take pictures and use them on my illustrations, most of the patterns used in them are photos I take with my phone.

5. Who and/or what inspires your work?

I love my friend’s Wilmer Murillo artwork before I met him and also Mina Wright’s work too, however inspiration began to bloom the
moment I met my girlfriend Michelle Cerrato, I owe it all to her, she’s now the most important part of my life.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

By watching stencils and graffiti artworks in the streets of my country I always imagined the world cleaner, colorful, peaceful and full of love. It is the connection to my childhood and it feels really awesome to make stuff other people appreciate.

dawnkey

7. Where did you study?

Currently I study Marketing at the National University (UNAH) and I can’t wait to get done, after it I would like to continue studying Graphic design.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years? Working in an agency?

Five years later I’ll be out of college, in me and Michelle’s apartment full of cute animals while we search for a nice home. The plan is to work somewhere I enjoy being, and where I have to dress formally, ties and all that stuff, a sales manager for example and innovating my form of art each day.

9. What about in ten?

Michelle and I have spoken this already, we’ll get married and we’ll have a kid. A big and well decorated studio where we can work together and many more awesome works. We still don’t know where we will be living though, perhaps here or somewhere in Europe. Hopefully it all goes according to plan.

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

I just want to get my work recognized and in the way find more people who enjoy what I do. Making a living out of it would not be bad at all also.

i-see-no-god-up-here-ilust

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

Lasagna used to be my favorite food but I realized I’m in love with sandwiches because they have everything, cheese, ham, bread, they’re so magical.

12. Favourite book?

I don’t have any, I actually hate reading, and watching movies.

13. Favourite genre of music?

Deep house is definitely my favorite genre, dancing to it is one of the best feelings as well as listening to it. Local Talks is my favorite record label, everything they release is great, I discovered deep house thanks to HNNY, my favorite artist, and recently I discovered Wilmer made the artwork of one of my favorite albums released on Local Talks which boosted my will to make art.

14. What are your hobbies?

My hobby was collecting coins from all around the world until my house got robbed and I lost my collection, I’m still copping with loss. At the moment I’m just dedicating to make illustrations, discovering new music and exploring my country.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

An ordinary person finding a way in life, art has really become a big part of my life, I always thought on making music but because I lack resources I was never able to start such career.

burro-con-alascrayonn-ilustsun-donkey-ilust-2not-alone