@laraperschnick

Instagram: @laraperschnick
Website: www.lara-perschnick.de

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

Hi! I’m Lara, born and raised in Berlin, Germany, still living and creating here. I moved a lot in the past two years but never lived in another city. But I like to travel and explore other cities though. 

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

Well, I think I am still in a process. I love to work with my hands, it satisfies me more than just drawing digitally. I have a quite steady color range I use but the combination is the key. It’s hard to describe my own style because I have a few different ones. But overall I’d say it’s a bit naive maybe. 

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

I love to work with paper cuts at the moment. I like to combine working digitally and manually.
I cut the objects out of normal paper, scan them and then work with them in the Procreate app on my iPad. It’s very satisfying to craft and then alter it digitally. 

4. What is your artistic process like?

It depends on what I am going to do. Sometimes I just have an idea and illustrate it straight away. But I enjoy the process of researching first before drawing. It really helps me to get a deeper insight into the subject to create the perfect illustration. Besides, there is a learning effect as well, which is really great. 

5. Who and/or what inspires your work? 

Honestly… everything. I like to watch people on the streets in their daily life. Everyday situations everyone can relate to and combine them with my own thoughts such as things that happen to me or people say. I remember when I had my vaccination for covid a month ago I got a high fever and had like an inspiration flash or something. I had so many ideas suddenly, luckily I wrote them down. 

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

A big role. It always has and always will. I’m grateful for that because art can really stimulate emotions. It’s fascinating just looking at an art piece and getting a feeling of longing or familiarity. Also to see things differently. I always have a specific feeling after I leave an amazing exhibition, I look at my environment with other eyes. 

7. Where did you study?

I studied Illustration as my major here in Berlin at the Design Academy Berlin, now Berlin School of Design and Communication. It is a private university so we had quite small classes. I graduated with 5 other people a year ago (for the illustration class). I miss my fellow students a bit because our last semester was just online due to covid. We need to get together again soon 😉 

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

Oh, that’s a tough question. I like to plan but not that far ahead, haha. Well, I see it that way: when I look back 5 years ago and comparing with now, I made a huge step and evolved in so many ways. I think it is the same thing in five years when I look back. I hope you get what I mean 🙂 

9. What about in ten?

Mh, actually almost the same as in the question before but I see myself more settled I guess. With more experience and confidence in what I do and being able to pay my bills by doing what I love. 

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

That may sound a bit selfish but I use my art to process my feelings. When I feel down I illustrate that, in my personal work of course. When I feel good I draw that. It really depends on how I feel. And I think that is the way of connecting. I am not the only one with certain emotions and people can relate to what they see. Also, everybody sees and interprets everything differently. I hope I can reach other people with my illustrations even if it’s just a small detail. 

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

I love to eat, so pretty much everything. But you always get me with a good Halloumi Burger and curly fries. 

12. Favourite book?

Well, I’m not much of a reader but I like to read non-fiction books. It may sound a bit boring but I like to learn stuff and get new perspectives and reflect. I am more into listening to radio plays, podcasts or music. 

13. Favourite genre of music? 

Everything besides rap… I grew up with a lot of classical music in my environment and I still love it. I really miss going to concerts like the Berlin Philharmonics. I’m into House/Funk recently. Favourite Song at the moment is „You & I“ from Dabeull. 

14. What are your hobbies? 

Hard to say because I turned my hobby into my job, haha but I enjoy playing the flute and piano. I like to go out and have long chats with my boyfriend about everything and anything. Also, he sails and sometimes I get to join him, that’s always very fun and relaxing. 

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

Probably a musician. I play the flute and had a, well, I would say professional education until I was 17 years old. I decided against studying music to do what I love most: illustrating.