Instagram: @helcovell
Twitter: @helcovelll
Etsy: www.etsy.com/uk/shop/Helcovell
Website: www.helcovell.com

 

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

I grew up in Yorkshire with my mum, and in the Canary Island’s with my dad, jumping between. I’ve studied in Leeds, lived in Edinburgh for a while, and now I’m back in Yorkshire trying out freelancing.

FAT CAT

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

Playful, minimal, movement, shapes, squiggles, characters, creating worlds, risographing, story telling, googly eyes.

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

Mechanical pencil- loose, good for mark making, doesn’t blunt!

4. What is your artistic process like?

I have a few little sketchbooks that I’m not precious about, and get everything out of my head into them, even if it’s a shoddy mind map. I leave and pick up things constantly. I’ll rarely sit down and finish a piece in one sitting- I always pick away at a few images, or projects. But when I pick something up, it’ll start with rough pencil/ fineliner sketches, that I then scan in to Photoshop and work into digitally. I’m aiming/ saving/ praying for an iPad as I think making work digitally with that will become more fluid as you’re not chained to a desk.

5. Who and/or what inspires your work?

Studio Ghibli. The Moomins. My old uni studio mates. A lot of the made up worlds and characters in the video games I played as a kid (GameCube/ Gameboy; Zelda, Pikmin, Spyro, Star Fox Adventures etc). Also trading Pokemon cards as a kid. Animation. Nature. Plus some amazing illustrators/ artists on Instagram.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

I’m constantly absorbing it where I can, and it never switch off. It gives me a purpose and helps me to understand myself. Apparently I never wanted to draw what was real, always what was made up. I think thats still somewhat true now, and I’m continually looking at the world around me for inspiration and opportunity for narrative.

Feature_mountain

7. Where did you study?

I did a foundation degree at Leeds Arts University, then an Illustration BA at Edinburgh College of Art.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

Freelance illustrating, being my own boss, doing more animation, making more books. Maybe more editorial work. Maybe wearing less pink. Maybe with dog.

9. What about in ten?

Oh jesus.

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

To make people feel good, with work that you can feel connected to. Or that makes you laugh. Ultimately, I want to keep being vulnerable within my work and make more of it that explores mental health; to hopefully empower other people struggling with their mental health, possibly make them feel good, and just for catharsis. I want my work to be genuine and honest and resonate.

POD FLOWERS

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

Pancakes with Nutella, and Pad Thai (not together).

12. Favourite book?

At the moment it’s ’The Sun and Her Flowers’ by Rupi Kaur, and Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami.

13. Favourite genre of music?

Mix up of soul, RnB and electronic.

14. What are your hobbies?

Cuddling dogs, eating, memes.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

A counsellor… lock your brains up.

Feature_JWFAT CHICK BLUE PINKFeature_Dog is GodFeature_Jumble2