Instagram: @hanulxcho
Website: myselfwool.creatorlink.net

 

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

Hi, I am Hanul Cho. I was born in Gwang-ju,Korea and I am living in Seoul, Korea as a freelance illustrator. I worked as a fashion designer. At that time, I have got an infection in my knee and I couldnโ€™t walk well. Since then, drawing has been another method of healing and feeling expression. Now I can walk better than before.

91

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

I love moderation in bright and colorful.

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

I like drawing with colored pencil and marker pen. It makes me more careful and more focused. Because it is difficult to modify. Moreover, I love the sound of using that.

4. What is your artistic process like?

Every day, I try to doodle whatever. And then, I develop what doodles I love.
I do line-drawing by colored pencil and painting by marker pen. After that, I work on computing to complete.

5. Who and/or what inspires your work?

I am inspired all around what I saw every day: movies, photos, nature, people etc.
Nowadays, my dogs have become a big part of my life. They give me a source of inspiration and make me be able to draw a warm painting.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

I have never been thinking about separation me and art. Art makes me an observer and a delicate person.

94

7. Where did you study?

I studied fashion design at Myongji University in Korea.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

I would like to open my studio to teach paintings and sell my goods.

9. What about in ten?

I will keep going to draw in my studio with my lover.

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

I hope to see the smile of somebody and give them another inspiration by my work. Above all, I want to give the feeling of peacefulness.

92-1

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

I love to eat a pork cutlet and a caesar salad.

12. Favourite book?

I like Douglas Kennedy’s novels. Now, I am reading ‘Dead Heart’.

13. Favourite genre of music?

I love to search the new music of indie bands.

14. What are your hobbies?

Taking a walk with my dogs and my boyfriend. Exercising to keep in shape. Reading a book in any genre.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

I would love to be an owner of the book cafe. Especially, the comic books.

84109103-296