1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

Hello! I am Franco Mateo, I am 26 years old and I am a digital artist specialized in CG and motion design, from Mendoza, Argentina.

Hola! Soy Franco Mateo tengo 26 años y soy un artista digital especializado en CG y motion design, de Mendoza, Argentina.


2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

I love pink, lately, all my work tends towards that color. I really like how it can contrast or accompany, due to the strong cultural load that is usually associated with that color, the sentimental and profound nature of the theme of my works because I try to reflect what I feel at the time of sitting down to illustrate or animate.

Me encanta el color rosado, últimamente todo mi trabajo tiende hacia ese color. Me gusta mucho como puede contrastar o acompañar, debido a la fuerte carga cultural que se suele asociar a ese color, la naturaleza sentimental y profunda de la temática de mis obras porque trato de reflejar lo que siento en el momento de sentarme a ilustrar o animar.

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

Digital. My illustrations are 100% digital, very rarely I start with an idea on paper.

Digital. It always was and it was that way because over time I learned to hate the print medium. I have been working in local studies and agencies for several years and the physical and technical limitations have led me more and more to move away from the physical environment to turn purely and exclusively to the digital medium. It gives you freedom and control that no other means gives you.

Digital. Mis ilustraciones son 100% digitales, muy rara vez empiezo con una idea en papel.

Digital. Siempre lo fue y fue así porque con el paso del tiempo he aprendido a odiar el medio impreso. Llevo varios años trabajando en estudios y agencias locales y las limitaciones físicas y técnicas me han llevado cada vez más a alejarme del medio físico para volcarme pura y exclusivamente al medio digital. Te da una libertad y control que ningún otro medio te lo da.

4. What is your artistic process like?

I usually start with a memory, a dream, an emotion. Then I try to explore some techniques that can accompany the scene or movement and reinforce the concept to the fullest. I like to work alone in my home studio, with music and cold water (the summers here are overwhelming).

Generalmente empiezo por un recuerdo, un sueño, una emoción. Luego trato de explorar alguna técnica que pueda acompañar a la escena o movimiento y refuerce al máximo el concepto. Me gusta trabajar solo en el estudio de mi casa, con música y agua bien fría (los veranos aquí son agobiantes).

5. Who and/or what inspires your work?

There are many artists who inspire and admire me, from locals studios like Foak Studio and Blirp Studio, to international artists such as Peter Tarka, Esteban Diácono and Zolloc. I also want to thank the amazing people from Eyedesyn and Greyscalegorilla for sharing their knowledge.

Hay muchos artistas que me inspiran y admiro, desde locales como los estudios Foak y Blirp, a internacionales como Peter Tarka, Esteban Diácono y Zolloc. Quiero agradecer también a los grosos de Eyedesyn y Greyscalegorilla por compartir su conocimiento.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

It is an escape from the routine and daily routine. When I need to get distracted or relax I sit down to watch a movie, play videogames game or start illustrating.

Es un escape a la rutina y la cotidianeidad del dia a dia. Cuando necesito distraerme o relajarme me siento a ver una pelicula, jugar un juego o ponerme a ilustrar y destenderme durante unas horas.

7. Where did you study?

I am about to receive a graphic design degree from the National University of Cuyo. But everything I know about CGI I have learned from the internet, I’m a self-taught artist.

Estoy por recibirme de la Universidad Nacional de Cuyo como diseñador gráfico. Pero todo lo que sé sobre CGI lo he aprendido de internet, soy autodidacta.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

Living and working as a freelance artist in another part of the world.

Viviendo y trabajando como freelance de mi arte en otra parte del mundo.

9. What about in ten?

I’d like to present in galleries, with some installation or simply framed pictures and animations in an entire room.

Me gustaría presentar en galerías, con alguna instalación o simplemente cuadros y animaciones en toda una habitación.

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

Wake people’s interest, that they feel connected and related, that they can see one of my illustrations and stop to think and find details in the scenes.

Despertar el interés en la gente, que se sientan conectados y relacionados, que puedan ver una de mis ilustraciones y paren un poco para pensar y encontrar detalles que enriquecen las escenas.

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

I love pasta, particularly noodles. I can eat them all the time and in a variety of ways (with sauce, with cream, with meat, chicken, well … you get it).

Amo la pasta, en particular los fideos. Puedo comerlos todo el tiempo y de formas muy variadas (con salsa, con crema, con carne, pollo, bueno… ustedes entendieron).

12. Favourite book?

I am not a person who reads a lot. But I remember reading at the school And Then There Were None of Agatha Christie, it blew my mind.

No soy una persona que lea mucho. Pero recuerdo haber leído en la escuela Diez Negritos de Agatha Christie, me voló la cabeza.

13. Favourite genre of music?

Pop, lately I am listening to a lot to Grimes, Hot Chip, Robyn and Beach House.

Pop, últimamente estoy escuchando mucho a Grimes, Hot Chip, Robyn y Beach House.

14. What are your hobbies?

When I’m not lying on the sofa watching a movie or series, I’m losing many lives in Mario Maker. I’m also an amateur analog photographer, I love being able to stop time in the albums on my shelf.

Cuando no estoy acostado en el sillón viendo una película o serie, estoy perdiendo muchas vidas en Mario Maker. También soy un fotógrafo análogo aficionado, amo poder detener el tiempo en los álbumes de mi repisa.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

I do not see myself being anything else, my mom is a kindergarten teacher and my father an architect. From a very young age, I have been in contact with artistic expressions and being aware of the spaces of lights and colors that surrounded me. I used to draw and make origami.

No me veo siendo otra cosa, mi mamá es maestra jardinera y mi papá arquitecto. Desde muy chico he estado en contacto con las expresiones artísticas y ser consciente de los espacios de luces y colores que me rodeaban. Dibujaba y hacía mucho origami.