Instagram: @eslamilo
Website: www.milohachim.com

 

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

I’m from Santiago, Chile. My favorite thing since i was little has been drawing, making Plasticine characters and inventing stories. I graduated from design in 2012 and worked in offices since then until last year. Currently I work as a freelancer giving priority to projects that include illustration while developing my personal projects

Soy de Santiago de Chile. Mi cosa favorita desde chica ha sido dibujar, hacer monos de plasticina e inventar historias. Estudié diseño, empecé a trabajar el 2012 en oficinas y renuncié hace un año para trabajar de manera independiente, dandole prioridad a trabajos que contemplaran ilustración y por otro lado desarrollar mis proyectos personales

2 astros

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

I seek to generate familiar images through simple figures, few elements and colors. This allows me to create various illustrated objects using ceramic, metal pins and embroidery as a medium.

Busco generar imágenes cercanas mediante figuras simples, pocos elementos y colores acotados. Esto me ha permitido además crear distintos objetos ilustrados usando la cerámica, pins metálicos y el bordado como medio.

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

Lately, I’m a fan of ceramic. It allows me to materialize what I think and draw and create objects that come to life through illustration. It’s a process that involves several steps and the final result always surprises me.

Ultimamente soy fan de la cerámica. Me permite materializar lo que pienso y dibujo y crear objetos que cobran vida a través de la ilustración. Es un proceso de trabajo que tiene varias etapas y el resultado final siempre me sorprende.

4. What is your artistic process like?

It depends on the project. The starting point can be a client brief, a sentence of a song that I like, the text from some article, my favorite character from the show I’m watching or something I saw on the internet. I always try to find the main concepts that help me form an image in my head.

The rest of the process depends on the support I choose to work. It can be as fast as drawing on the computer or as slow as embroidering it.

Depende del proyecto, el punto de partida puede ser el brief de un cliente, la frase de una canción que me gusta mucho, un texto de algún artículo, mi personaje favorito de la serie que estoy viendo o algo que vi en internet. Siempre trato de encontrar los conceptos principales que me ayuden a formar una imagen en mi cabeza, y dependiendo del soporte es el proceso que voy a tener. Puede ser tan rápido como dibujarlo en el computador o tan lento como bordarlo.

5. Who and/or what inspires your work?

I’m inspired by my friends my rabbit and the things I like: tv shows, cartoons, music, objects. And although it may sound cliché where I come from, I am inspired by the figure of Violeta Parra, a Chilean artist who stands out for the versatility of his work, present in music, embroidery, poetry and painting.

Me inspiran mis amigos. Me inspiran las cosas que me gustan como las series, los dibujos animados, la música, los objetos. Y mi coneja a la que le hago comics como si fuera una niña que va al colegio. Y aunque pueda sonar cliché, me inspira la figura de Violeta Parra, por la versatilidad de su trabajo, presente en la música, el bordado, la poesía y la pintura

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

I am a person of few words and the illustration has helped me to communicate. Sometimes things do not need explanation because they speak for themselves.

Yo no soy una persona muy de palabras, la ilustración me ha ayudado a comunicarme. A veces las cosas no necesitan explicación porque hablan por sí solas

twin peaks2

7. Where did you study?

At the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile.

En la U. Católica de Chile

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

I hope that I’ll still be working independently, improving my work and living on what i love, illustration, ceramic, embroidery.

Trabajando independiente aún espero, mejorando en mi trabajo y viviendo de la ilustración/cerámica/bordado

9. What about in ten?

I don’t like to think that far away but I hope i’ll be better than in the previous answer.

No me imagino tanto pero espero que mejor que en la respuesta anterior

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

I hope to do beautiful things because every one of us is happy when we see something beautiful, especially if we can have it in our home or put it on our clothes.

Espero hacer algo bello porque a todos nos hace felices ver algo bello, especialmente si lo podemos tener en nuestra casa o ponerlo en nuestra ropa.

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

Charquicán (a chilean stew of potatoes, squash, corn, chard, and other vegetables). Usuall,y it has meat but i’m a vegetarian.

El charquicán, pero sin carne

12. Favourite book?

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley.

Un mundo Feliz

13. Favourite genre of music?

Pop, folk. From Talking Heads to Natalia Lafourcade.

14. What are your hobbies?

I like to go to flea fairs and markets to find treasures like old toys and miniatures.

Me gusta ir a las ferias a encontrar tesoros como juguetes antiguos y miniaturas.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

Antique dealer or stamp collector.

Vendedor de antigüedades o estampillas.

twin peaks15 jeans

3 cosas