Instagram: @elgogokiller

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

I’m a 24 years old student from Nantes in France, currently in my last year of master in motion design. I’ve been in Nantes most of my life and I’m working in a design studio named « WR2 ».

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

I love vibrant colors and at the same time sobriety and monochromatism. I am still figuring out the universe I would like to explore, but I love natural shapes, landscapes and pattern. I like to watch the weird formations that it is possible to find in the natural state, and then deform it or play with it to make it weirder. All the organic shapes and variety of fluids are very fascinating to me. 

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

I’ve been more of a 2D guy for long, but I’m currently working in 3D at work with GPU rendering engine and I’m in love with the possibly it proposes. For the most part, I’m working with digital mediums, but again I’m still figuring out the one I like the most, I guess it depends on the message I want to deliver.

4. What is your artistic process like?

I usually start from sketch but I always end up doing something different. I really need to tweak a design before taking a decision, I do a lot of CTRL + Z before having a very specific picture in mind.

5. Who and/or what inspires your work? 

I get inspired by so many various things, artists, techniques, places etc… I think that’s why I don’t seem to catch a style I’m confident with, I want to do very different things from a week to another. Recently I’m totally in love with the work of Alexa Sirbu and Lukas Vojir, and inspired by the amazing artists I see an instagram.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

An important role, I look at amazing things every day from designers around the world, that’s the magic of internet. It has changed the way I do the world because I think I that I pay much more attention in details now that I used to do when I look at art or nature.

7. Where did you study?

I am currently in my last year of a master in motion design & art direction in Nantes.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

I don’t know, I want to try to work abroad in the future, maybe in Canada, somewhere far from France to see what happens elsewhere. Life is pretty uncertain at this point.

9. What about in ten?

I have absolutely no idea, I’d like to work in a good studio or maybe create my own, I don’t know yet.

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

I don’t even know if I am trying to achieve something… I guess for the most part I’m trying to have fun doing what I love !

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

There is so much food I love, but a good burger and fries to keep it simple works every time for me.

12. Favourite book?

« Le K » form Dino Buzzati

13. Favourite genre of music? 

Rock / pop and a lot of classical 

14. What are your hobbies? 

I play a lot of music, mostly guitar, also video games and cinema, and museums.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

I think I would have worked in the audio field, maybe sound designer or something like that, I wanted to work with music but then I discovered art direction in high school.