Instagram: @celadonwall

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

I was born in Dushanbe in the Republic of Tajikistan. In 1993, a civil war broke out, a shell hit our house and we had to leave for Russia. Perhaps I will still be able to get to my homeland and see the beautiful mountains and fast mountain rivers. My dad is an architect. Therefore, from early childhood, I was inundated with art materials. That’s why I’ve been drawing since childhood.

@celadonwall

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

My aesthetic is color harmony.

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

My favorite environment is my home. I love to work alone in calmness.

4. What is your artistic process like?

First, I draw sketches in a sketchbook, then select a palette, then paint with watercolors or in Procreate, or in Illustrator. Sometimes at first, I see very beautiful color combinations, for example, on someone’s socks :)) and immediately an image is born in my head.

5. Who and/or what inspires your work? 

I’m inspired by my daughter Iman, my 6 cats, favorite artists, unusual natural textures, children’s books.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

Since childhood, I have been surrounded by architecture magazines, catalogs of reproductions of great artists, sketches and paintings of my father and mother, so I always saw the world through the prism of art. I don’t even know how it could be otherwise.

7. Where did you study?

I studied at a technical university. Because I did not believe in my talent and was afraid to do what I liked.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

This is the most difficult question for me always, I try not to think so far 🙂

9. What about in ten?

Also a difficult question. I see myself in my workshop in complete harmony, next to my beloved people and numerous cats and dogs.

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

I hope to achieve harmony with myself with my art. Without this, it is very difficult to live in our world.

@celadonwall

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

Boiled corn with salt, dumplings with cherries.

12. Favourite book?

I have a lot of favorite books. As a child, I adored Darrell and the Strugatsky brothers, now I adore children’s books with beautiful illustrations, for example, the book by Sergei Kozlov “The Four Seasons” with illustrations by Peter Bagin.

13. Favourite genre of music? 

Post-punk, shoegaze, indie. Joy Division forever 🙂

14. What are your hobbies? 

My hobby is my job.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

I’ve always wanted to be a veterinarian.

@celadonwall