Instagram: @ashlwong
Twitter: @assbestos
Website: www.ashlwong.com

 

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

My parents immigrated to Canada from Hong Kong a few years before I was born in Scarborough, Ontario. Moving to Whitby and suddenly being one of the few people of colour at my elementary school was difficult but helped shape me into the pleasant and quietly angry person I am today.

dance

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

I am currently a fan of round shapes and the mixing of different textures but things can change in a short amount of time! I feel like I will always love bright colours and making joyful work.

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

I started embroidering last year and my hands are always itching to do more and more embroidery work. The textures of fabric and embroidery thread are so beautiful on their own. I also love that repetitively stitching relaxes me. I look forward to sitting down for hours to half-watch TV shows and work on embroidery pieces. Painting and working on Photoshop is nice too.

4. What is your artistic process like?

I often would rather jump right into a piece instead of working more on planning it, which is something I want to change. I start sketching my ideas out after I write key words down. For my embroidery work, I usually jump right in after drawing one or two sketches.

5. Who and/or what inspires your work?

Going out and spending time with people I like inspires my work. It reminds me that I want to make work that makes others feel joy. My illustration school friends inspire me with the passion they have for making things.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

Art has always been a big part of my life. My mom would draw with me when I was a kid and my aunt is a set designer. They both encouraged me to continue drawing. Making art has made me view the world as carefully designed source of inspiration.

space girl final

7. Where did you study?

I will be graduating from Sheridan College’s illustration program in 2018.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

I’ll probably be working a day job and doing freelance work, maybe in Montréal.

9. What about in ten?

Hopefully I can support myself fully by making art by then. I think I’ll have a few cats and cool hair.

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

I hope to make others happy with my art!

summer

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

My favourite food is noodles in soup. I love wonton noodle soup, laksa, pho, Lanzhou beef noodles, ramen, khao soi, the life-changing noodles I got from a noodle stand in Chiang Mai, etc.

12. Favourite book?

I’m not sure if I have an absolute favourite anymore but The Good Women of China by Xue Xinran really moved me.

13. Favourite genre of music?

Pop? I like anything I can boogie to in an upbeat way.

14. What are your hobbies?

I like listening to podcasts, eating, playing The Sims 3, and petting cats and dogs.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

I’d be a professional peruser of statement earrings.

hiking girlexplosionrecipe