@aprilstuesdaydesign

Instagram: @aprilstuesdaydesign

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

Hi, my name is Inging. I was born and raised in Thailand. Currently, I am working as a part-time illustrator. I have been interested in drawing and art since I was a child but never really took it seriously or have time to draw much until the pandemic of Covid19 in the year 2020. I started painting during the lockdown period to cope with tension due to the pandemic. 

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

I love experimenting with nature and female forms and creating minimal settings for them. Also, I love playing with colour palettes. And I think that is the main thing that defines my styles – soft & delicate colours. 

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

My favourite medium is my iPad and Procreate app. I tend to be very insecure and go back and edit a lot. The multiple layers and undo buttons can be life savers. Although most of my works are digital, I try to add some texture and sketchy touches to them. I do love creating traditionally as well, mostly in watercolor. 

4. What is your artistic process like?

I may see a colour palette that I love and I feel that I want to create something around it. I sketch it first then fill it with colours and textures. I love experimenting with different colour schemes and different ideas. I like the process where there is no pressure but just for fun. 

5. Who and/or what inspires your work? 

I like to create illustrations for women empowerment, which represents the feelings of individuality, love and healing alongside the love of nature; the gratitude for the earth which brings light and joy to our life. So my artwork is inspired by women of different ethnicities; strong, wise, yet gentle women as well as the form of nature.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

I think everyone has their own unique way of thinking when they look at something. So as an artist, they can express it in many various ways. As for me, art has always been a part of my life. It is a great way to express my feelings and inner thoughts to the world. 

7. Where did you study?

I graduated in Tourism and Hospitality Industry from Mahidol University, Thailand. I was not really involved or related to the art industry that much until the year 2020 of the pandemic period.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

Making arts and improving my skills and techniques in my artwork. Travel more. Being close to nature and getting myself a dog as having pets bring me joy.

9. What about in ten?

Same answer with the previous one. Being closer to nature. Simply, nature makes us more open to other people. And travel a lot more to make our soul happy.

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

I hope my art can be friends with people. Hoping it can bring some joy and smile; positive energy to everyone who looks at them.

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

I love lots of different food coming from all over the world, but I personally love traditional Thai food.

12. Favourite book?

There are so many. If I have to name a few, there will be Tuesday with Morrie by Albom Mitch. How to win friends and influence people by Dale Carnegie. GANESHA: The Elephant that Taught Me How to Change by Keiya Mizuno. 

13. Favourite genre of music? 

I enjoy all kinds of music. Some of my favourites are Jazz, Soul, and Alternative/Indie.

14. What are your hobbies? 

Reading, music, watching some movies and planting.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

I would still like to do something related to art, like a pottery workshop cafe or a gallery for illustrators.