Instagram: @anamatsusaki
Behance: www.behance.net/anamatsusaki
Website: www.anamatsusaki.com

 

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

I was born and raised in Sao Paulo, Brazil, Ive always travelled a lot, but always kept my roots there. On February last year (2016) I left Brazil and started a trip around the world, living in different cities from 1 to 6 months. As I am a freelancer, it doesn’t matter where I live, I just need a good internet connection, so I can keep working. Right now my partner and I are in Guatemala and we still don´t have plans to settle down very soon.

Eu nascei e cresci em São Paulo, Brasil. Sempre viajei bastante, mas mantive minhas raízes lá. Em fevereiro do ano passado (2016) eu deixei o Brasil e comecei uma viagem ao redor do mundo. Como sou freelancer, não importa onde vivo, só preciso de uma boa conexão de internet para manter os trabalhos fluindo. Nesse momento exato meu parceiro e eu estamosna Guatemala, e não temos planos de nos fixarmos por enquanto.

goodhairday_anamatsusaki

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

I´ve always flirted with cubism and with geometric shapes, but I’ve noticed that my last works are getting more organic. I think I´m not ready yet to get attached to any style or to make a statement about my work. Sometimes I am very surprised with the final result, I think: “Did I do this?” But there are some things that I like and they persist, like the texture of materials like pencils mixed with more geometric shapes.

Eu sempre flertei com o cubismo e com formas mais geométricas, mas percebi que meus últimos trabalhos estão se tornando mais fluídos e orgânicos. Acho que ainda não estou preparada para me prender a um estilo específico nem para afirmar absolutamente nada sobre o meu trabalho. Às vezes eu mesma me surpreendo com o resultado final dos trabalhos e penso: “Fui eu quem fez isso?” Mas há algumas coisas que eu gosto e que persistem, como a textura de materiais como lápis, misturadas com formas mais geométricas.

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

I really enjoy the gesture, the texture of materials and I try to mix this with the possibilities of digital art, I like to create most part of the elements by hand, using pencils or stamps, and then I mix it all in Photoshop, with photos and geometric vectors in a digital collage.

Eu gosto muito do gesto, da textura dos materiais e busco mesclar isso com as possibilidades que a arte digital oferece. Gosto de fazer boa parte dos elementos à mão, com lápis ou carimbos e misturar tudo isso no Photoshop com fotos e vetores geométricos, como uma colagem digital.

4. What is your artistic process like?

Usually I start writing some words to organize my thoughts and drawing some horrible roughs and thumbnails. It helps me to connect ideas, to explore them, and try different ways for the same concept. Then I do sketching in Photoshop, I print it, work on it with ink, pencil, whatever I have at the moment, and I scan it again. Back to the computer I change positions, play with colours and I use the mistakes to make them part of my style.

Geralmente eu começo escrevendo algumas palavras para organizar os meus pensamentos e desenho uns rafes e thumbnails bem horríveis. Isso me ajuda a conectar as ideias, explorá-las e tentar caminhos diferentes para o mesmo conceito. Depois eu começo um rafe no Photoshop, imprimo, trabalho sobre ele usando tinta, lápis ou qualquer coisa que eu tenha à mão e escaneio novamente. De volta ao computador eu mudo posições dos elementos, brinco com as cores e uso os erros para torná-los parte do meu estilo.

5. Who and/or what inspires your work?

Modernists like Matisse or Picasso. Talking about illustrations my muse is Květa Pacovská. I have a long list of favourite contemporary illustrators, it would be unfair to mention only one. All the places I go on my trips affect my work, I´ve noticed that I include colour palettes or elements related to the city where I am living at the moment.

Modernistas como Matisse e Picasso na pintura. Na ilustração minha musa é Květa Pacovská. De ilustradores contemporâneos a lista vai longe e seria injusto citar apenas um. Todos os lugares que percorro em minhas viagens também acabam afetando os meus desenhos, percebo que eu passo a usar algumas paletas ou elementos relacionados à cidade na qual estou vivendo no momento, por exemplo.

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

Honestly I have no idea about how this affects me, because I don´t know other ways to see the world that are not mine. Maybe I´m more crytical about aesthetics or too much emotional when I go to a museum or when I see a beautiful landscape. But I´m not sure if this is related to my connection with Arts or if it´s just my character.

Sinceramente, não sei como isso me afeta porque não sei como seria uma outra forma de ver o mundo que não fosse a minha. Talvez eu seja um pouco mais crítica em relação à estética ou fique muito emotiva em museus ou diante de paisagens, mas não sei afirmar se isso está relacionado à minha relação com a arte ou se é apenas parte da minha personalidade.

f6376d36556625.5720aaedd82fc

7. Where did you study?

I studied Graphic Design at Belas Artes in São Paulo, but my main instruction came from illustration classes I used to go in Sao Paulo.

Eu estudei Design Gráfico na Belas Artes de São Paulo, mas minha formação principal foram cursos extras que fiz com ilustradores excelentes em São Paulo.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

I never have plans further than 3 months, so this is a tough question. I´m happy with my life, working with what I love, travelling and drinking wine sometimes. If I can keep this lifestyle, it would be great. 😉

Eu nunca tenho planos que vão mais longe do que os próximos 3 meses, então essa é uma pergunta difícil de responder. Me sinto satisfeita com a vida que levo, trabalhando com o que gosto, viajando e bebendo uns vinhos de vez em quando, se eu conseguisse manter isso seria ótimo. 😉

9. What about in ten?

To keep doing what I am doing today, hopefully a little bit better hehe…

Continuar fazendo o que faço hoje, com sorte, estarei um pouco melhor, hehe…

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

I would like to take my work for a social level, on a way that I could make at least a small change on the causes I believe.

Gostaria muito de levar meu trabalho para um lado mais social, de forma que ele pudesse fazer ao menos uma pequena diferença nas causas nas quais eu acredito.

fapesp_anamatsusaki_00_1086

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

Japanese food. All of them, from sashimi to udon. You can see there´s a special care preparing the food, there´s a concern about texture, flavours and the visual. It´s like you could eat a piece of art.

Comida japonesa. Todas elas, do sashimi ao udon. Se vê que há um cuidado muito grande no preparo da comida, uma preocupação com texturas, com os sabores, com a estética. É como se você pudesse comer uma obra de arte.

12. Favourite book?

One hundred years of solitud by Gabriel García Marquez. I missed it for a few days when I finished it.

Cem anos de solidão de Gabriel García Marquez foi um livro que me deixou com saudades por um bom tempo depois que eu terminei.

13. Favourite genre of music?

It depends on the life moment. I spent the last months living in Mexico, so I’ve been listening a lot of traditional Mexican music.

Depende do momento da vida. Como passei os últimos meses no México tenho escutado muita música tradicional mexicana.

14. What are your hobbies?

I really enjoy discovering new restaurants and trying new food. Is this a hobby? Learning languages and sitting on a bench in a square for people watching.

Gosto muito de sair para conhecer restaurantes e experimentar comidas novas. Isso é um hobby? Aprender línguas, e sentar numa praça para observar as pessoas.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

Teacher. It could be anything, Maths, Science, Portuguese, you name it. I love teaching so maybe one day I could also follow this way.

Professora. Poderia ser de qualquer coisa, matemática, educação física, ciências ou português, eu gosto muito de ensinar e talvez um dia consiga ir por esse caminho também.

if_resist_anamatsusakianamatsusaki-esperanto_01_1000anamatsusaki_01anamatsusaki_03