Instagram: @_carolina.carballo_
Website: www.carolina-carballo.com

1. What’s your story? Where are you from?

I was born in a countryside village in Argentina, but moved to the big city of Buenos Aires at the age of 5. My parents were both very artistic, though they had normal jobs, but that gave me a contact with colors and materials as a kid. Studied Graphic Design, and jumped into motion graphics industry very early in my job experience. 

2. Tell us about your aesthetic.

I love playing with colors, that’s what drives my work the most. Creating relationships and tensions, that can drive certain moods or climaxes. I also like creating systems and series of images instead of just one single piece. 

3. What is your favourite medium and why?

Now I’m very into 3D design, it gives me lots of possibilities: you can mix design and photography in different levels, as well as making things that in real life would be impossible. You never stop learning and as the tool evolves you earn a new way to create and communicate.

4. What is your artistic process like?

I’m very sensitive, generally I have 1 or 2 ideas going on my mind that I want to try and that drives me to create.. that’s for my personal production. But when I’m doing a project I usually like to bring references from many different worlds to achieve a result or a solution. I like to create my own textures and try very different colour palettes.

5. Who and/or what inspires your work? 

When it comes to creating something, I like to look at nature, photography and old paintings.

I also have a folder with screenshots I save from very random things because I like the color palette or the light on it.. And of course, there are Many AMAZING artists that obviously inspire me, Six n five, Hvass & Hannibal, Wang and soderstrom, CATK, Zeitguised… just to name some..

6. What role does art play in your life? How does it change the way you view the world?

For me, Art is a very powerful tool to evolve. You are allowed to connect feelings, thoughts and Ideas in the process of creation and that’s amazing. 

I also did a lot of dancing in my life as another form of expression, and realized I healed and grew a lot through it too.

7. Where did you study?

I studied at University of Buenos Aires. Free massive and amazing school, great teachers and you get to see how 200 people solve the same exact design problem. 

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?

No idea.. I was about to move to Spain for a while, but now its all uncertainity.

9. What about in ten?

I would love to have my own orchard.

10. What do you hope to achieve with your art?

Now my short term goal is to collaborate and work with many different people and find new relationships and synergy.

11. Now, tell us a little more about you as a person: what is your favourite food?

FRUITS since forever. But also my mom’s lasagna.

12. Favourite book?

I don’t have one favorite, I like a lot Julio Cortazar & Hebe Uhart.

13. Favourite genre of music? 

All Afro roots music.

14. What are your hobbies? 

Dancing.

15. If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

I would like to have a fruits and veggies shop.